Click your county to be connected with local DUI lawyer in Alabama
Getting a DUI in Alabama
A DUI infraction is an extremely serious charge that if not handled by a skilled DUI lawyer, may have a multitude of repercussions. If you have been charged with a DUI in the state of Alabama, you have access to the top DUI lawyer in your area through our website, http://dui-lawyers.usattorneys.com. Whether you are the victim or the accused, having the best DUI lawyer possible working on your case can mean the difference between facing jail time and having your record wiped clean. Contact us today to see how a top DUI lawyer can assist you.
Before you are issued a driving under the influence (DUI) charge by an officer in Alabama, there are a few steps that are taken to ensure that you are intoxicated. In Alabama, DUIs are issued if a motorist is operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content level (BAC) of .08 percent or higher, which is measured by a device known as a breathalyzer. However, it is difficult to measure exactly how impaired a driver is by BAC level alone. Some studies show that levels of .05 percent are enough to alter a motorist’s perception on the road. In order to more accurately test a driver’s level of sobriety, field tests are often performed in conjunction with a breath exam. If you fail, an officer has the right to arrest you and will charge you with DUI.
DUI Laws in Alabama
In Alabama it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle if :
- You are under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- You are under the influence of a drug to a degree which renders you incapable of safely operating a motor vehicle
- You have a BAC level of .08 percent or higher
- You are under the combined influence of alcohol and a drug to a degree which renders you incapable of driving safely
- You are a commercial vehicle operator whose BAC level is .04 percent or higher
- You are under the age of 21 and your BAC level is .02 percent or higher
- You are a school bus or daycare driver whose BAC level is .02 percent or higher
The Implied Consent Law in Alabama
The Implied Consent Law in Alabama states that:
“Any person who operates a motor vehicle upon the public highways of this state shall be deemed to have given his consent to a chemical test or tests of his blood, breath, or urine to determine blood alcohol content.”
*If you refuse to comply with officers and do not take the required test, your driver’s license will be suspended.
DWI Punishments in Alabama
All convicted DUI offenders in Alabama must complete a DUI or substance abuse court referral program. For any DUI conviction in the state of Alabama, a motorist may be issued any one or combination of the following punishments:
1st DUI Conviction
- Imprisonment for up to 1 year
- Fine between $600 to $2,100
- License suspension for up to 90 days
2nd Drunk Driving Conviction
- Imprisonment for up to 1 year
- Minimum of 5 days in jail
- Minimum of 30 days community service
- Fine between $1,100 and $5,100
- License suspension for up to 1 year
3rd DUI Conviction
- Imprisonment anywhere between 60 days to 1 year
- Mandatory 60 days imprisonment
- Fine between $2,100 and $10,000
- License suspension for 3 years
4th DWI Conviction
- Considered a Class “C” Felony
- Imprisonment anywhere from 1 to 10 years
- Mandatory jail time for 1 year and 1 day
- Fine between $4,100 and $10,100
- Must complete State Certified Chemical Dependency Program
- License suspension for 5 years
Interlock Ignition Device
As of 2010, Alabama House Bill 322 requires that certain DUI convicts be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. An interlock ignition device prevents a motorist from starting their car until they provide a breath sample that proves they are sober.
A first time DUI conviction may result in the requirement to install an ignition interlock device, however, all multiple offense DUI convictions in Alabama result in the motorist being ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed. For second-time DUI offenders, the period is 2 years, for third-time DUI offenders, the required time is 3 years and for fourth-time DUI offenders, an interlock ignition device must be installed for 5 years.
If a motorist refuses to take a chemical test for intoxication or if the offender’s BAC level was .15 percent or higher, the time period in which the ignition interlock device must be used will be doubled.
Any violation committed by the Alabama DUI offender during the mandatory time period in which the ignition interlock must be used will result in an extension of the duration of its use for 6 months from the date of violation.
What Happens After You are Charged with DUI/DWI in Alabama?
If you were charged with drunken driving in Alabama, don’t panic. There are many times in which motorists are issued faulty breathalyzer tests or have been arrested on officer suspicion alone. The good news is that you can contest your charges with the help of an elite Alabama DUI lawyer.
Alabama DUI attorneys do whatever it takes to ensure their clients’ charges are either significantly reduced or wiped out altogether. They will investigate the incident, speak to police and witnesses and get to the bottom of what really occurred. When you work with an acclaimed DUI lawyer in Alabama, you can rest assured that your case will end with the best possible outcome.
Browse our site to get connected to the best DUI lawyers in the state who will represent you with integrity and passion and who will do whatever it takes to protect your rights. Contact one of our featured DUI attorneys in the state to schedule a FREE and confidential initial appointment today.