Click your county to be connected with a local attorney

 

Indiana DUI Laws

An experienced DUI lawyer in Indiana is waiting to help you fight your DUI misdemeanor or felony today. With years of service dedicated to helping DUI cases get dropped, any featured DUI lawyer you pick from our network has the highest level of expertise in handling DUI legal claims. Don’t postpone your DUI case any longer; contact a DUI lawyer in Indiana near you to start claiming the full array of benefits you are entitled to. No DUI case is too large or too small of our top DUI lawyers to handle.

The state of Indiana imposes strict penalties for those found guilty of drunken driving (DUI). Any motorist driving in the state with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher will be issued a DUI. Drivers under the age of 21 and commercial vehicle drivers have lower BAC requirements to be charged with DUI. It is illegal for minors to drive in the state of Indiana with a BAC level of .02 percent or higher and it is illegal for commercial vehicle drivers to operate a commercial vehicle over the legal BAC limit of .04 percent.

Even first-time DUI offenders do not get off easy in the state. In Indiana, those who drive with a BAC level above .08 percent are issued a Class “C” misdemeanor on first offense.

In addition to penalizing drivers who operate a motor vehicle above the standard BAC level, Indiana also has laws against driving under the influence of illegal substances and drugs.

Indiana’s Implied Consent Law

The state of Indiana has an implied consent law, which deems that all Indiana drivers agree to submit to a chemical test of their blood, urine and breath to determine alcohol/drug consumption. The state considers the refusal of such a test to be a more serious offense than the actual DUI conviction. If a motorist in Indiana refuses to take the test, their license will be suspended for 1 year upon the first refusal.

Indiana DUI Penalties

1st DUI Conviction

• Class “C” misdemeanor, under .15 percent
• Imprisonment: no minimum jail time unless BAC .149 percent or higher
• Imprisonment up to 1 year if BAC level is over .15 percent (depending on the county)
• Fine up to $500-$5000 according to http://dui.drivinglaws.org/indiana.php
• Fine up to $5,000 if BAC level is over .15 percent
• Driver’s license suspended up to 2 years
• Court fees imposed minimum $300
• Probation up to 2 years
• May be ordered to install ignition interlock device
• May be ordered to perform community service
• May be ordered to attend victim impact panel
• May be ordered to attend substance abuse education program
• May be ordered to submit to urine testing

2nd DUI Conviction

• Level “6” misdemeanor or felony
• Imprisonment from 180 days to 2 years
• Fine up to $10,000
• Driver’s license suspended from
• Probation up to 2 years
• May be ordered to install ignition interlock device
• May be ordered to perform community service
• May be ordered to attend victim impact panel
• May be ordered to attend substance abuse education program
• May be ordered to submit to urine testing

3rd DUI Conviction

• Class “D” felony
• Imprisonment from 10 days minimum to 3 years
• Fine up to $10,000
• Driver’s license suspended from 1 to 10 years
• Probation up to 2 years
• May be ordered to install ignition interlock device
• May be ordered to perform community service
• May be ordered to attend victim impact panel
• May be ordered to attend substance abuse education program
• May be ordered to submit to urine testing
• May be deemed “Habitual Traffic Violator” (subject to greater penalties)

First Time DUI Offense in Indiana

For the first DUI offense in Indiana, the state may allow a driver to undergo a treatment program in order to drop the DUI charges altogether. The DUI offender must graduate from the course in order to have the DUI charges wiped out. This does not apply for first time DUI offenders in Indiana that refuse to take a chemical test to determine blood alcohol/drug content levels.

Hiring Legal Help to Fight Indiana DUI Charges

If you have incurred a DUI charge in the state of Indiana, there is still hope for your charges to get dropped, even if you are not a first time offender. Speak to one of our featured DUI lawyers in Indiana to discuss your options and file a claim.

Without the help of a top Indiana DUI attorney, you may suffer the maximum penalties for your crime and can have your entire life affected negatively by the charges. However, when you solicit the help of an acclaimed DUI lawyer in Indiana from our website, you can rest assured that your case will end with the best possible outcome. Our featured paralegals will work hard to get your charges lowered or dropped completely.

Call the offices of a leading team of DUI attorneys in Indiana from our site to get help for your charges right away.