Click your county to be connected with a local attorney

 

Washington DUI Laws

Is your DUI infraction holding you back from having peace of mind? Never fear; we can connect you to a superb DUI lawyer in Washington that will lift the burden of the DUI infraction off of your back. Each DUI lawyer found on our site will take care of all the details of your DUI case, right down to completing police reports and setting up insurance claims. Call today to set up a consultation with a first-class DUI lawyer in Washington near you.

In Washington, there are strict laws in place for motorists that are caught driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. These laws are called DUI (Driving Under the Influence) laws. The standard measurement of intoxication is a BAC test, or blood alcohol concentration test. If a motorist over the age of 21 has a BAC of .08 percent or higher, they will be arrested and charged with DUI in Washington. The state has lower BAC requirements for both commercial vehicle drivers and minors. Commercial vehicle operators may not drive with a BAC level of .04 percent or higher and minors (persons under the age of 21) may not drive with a BAC level of .02 percent or above.

DUI offenders are subject to strict penalties including fines, license suspension and jail time. Penalties increase with every subsequent DUI conviction as well as with BAC level. Anyone arrested for DUI in Washington has to appear in court within 48 hours of the next business day following arrest. It is imperative that anyone charged with DUI in Washington obtain legal help immediately because unrepresented motorists are usually kept in jail until bail can be posted. The state does not allow personal checks or credit cards to pay for bail.

Penalties for Washington DUI Convictions

The following are the various punishments that Washington DUI offenders may incur:

1st DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 24 hours to 1 year or electronic monitoring with house arrest for 15 days
o 2 days to 1 year if BAC above .15 percent or electronic monitoring with house arrest for 30 days
• Fine from $865.50 to $5,000
o $1,120.50 to $5,000 if BAC above .15 percent
• Driver’s license suspended 90 days
o 1 year if BAC above .15 percent
• Ignition interlock device required
o Additional 60 days if DUI offender had passenger under 16 in vehicle
• Washington SR22 Insurance required
• May be asked to undergo drug and alcohol education program

2nd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 30 days to 1 year or electronic monitoring with house arrest for 60 days
o 45 days to 1 year if BAC above .15 percent or electronic monitoring with house arrest for 90 days
• Fine from $1,120.50 to $5,000
o $1,545.50 to $5,000 if BAC above .15 percent
• Driver’s license suspended 2 years
o 900 days if BAC above .15 percent
• Ignition interlock device required
o Additional 60 days if DUI offender had passenger under 16 in vehicle
• Washington SR22 Insurance required
• May be asked to undergo drug and alcohol education program

3rd DUI Conviction

• Imprisonment from 90 days to 1 year or electronic monitoring with house arrest for 120 days
o 120 days to 1 year if BAC above .15 percent or electronic monitoring with house arrest for 150 days
• Fine from $1,970.50to $5,000
o $2,820.50to $5,000 if BAC above .15 percent
• Driver’s license suspended 3 years
o 4 years if BAC above .15 percent
• Ignition interlock device required
o Additional 60 days if DUI offender had passenger under 16 in vehicle
• Washington SR22 Insurance required
• May be asked to undergo drug and alcohol education program

Washington Child Endangerment Laws

As of January 2011, the state of Washington requires a mandatory report of any offender who is driving under the influence with a passenger under 13 years of age in the vehicle. If an officer has reason to believe the child is in danger, they are authorized to take the child into custody.

Implied Consent Law

Washington’s implied consent law states that any person operating a motor vehicle in Washington must agree to submit to a chemical test to determine intoxication if suspected of driving under the influence. Those who refuse will have their driver’s license suspended for a minimum of 1 year for the first refusal and penalties will increase with subsequent refusals. Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test may be as severe or stricter than an actual DUI punishment.

Hiring a Washington DUI Lawyer

Washington DUI cases are taken very seriously. A motorist accused of DUI is required to appear in court just 48 hours after being arrested. If you have been charged with DUI, turn to a skilled Washington DUI lawyer for help immediately. With a top DUI attorney on your side, you can rest assured that your case will end with the best possible outcome.

Your Washington DUI attorney will do everything possible to get your charges lowered or completely dismissed. You can trust your paralegal to have your best interests in mind and work hard on your behalf so that your rights are upheld.

Call today to schedule a meeting with a DUI lawyer in Washington near you.