Arapahoe, CO – An Arapahoe judge revoked John Bowlen’s probation and has issued a warrant for his arrest.
Son of the Broncos owner, John Bowlen, was originally arrested for driving more than 100 mph and under suspicion of DUI. According to FOX 31 Denver, Bowlen was not cooperative during his arrest, and made it clear multiple times that he was the son of Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen.
Jail records reveal he was then booked on one count of having over .08 percent of alcohol in his blood, and on a misdemeanor charge of being under the influence of a drug or alcohol. Apparently, several drivers called to report his “reckless driving” before he was even pulled over. Once he was, authorities found an open container of alcohol. Bowlen refused to have his blood taken.
His DUI arrest comes after previously being found guilty of harassment in a domestic violence case; he was sentenced in Colorado to two years of probation, along with a drug and alcohol evaluation. Because of this, an Arapahoe County judge has revoked Bowlen’s probation and instead issued an arrest warrant.
According to the Arapahoe judge, his DUI arrest violated the terms of his probation because it included a condition that he could not violate either state or federal laws. The arrest warrant was also issued because he had not only failed to keep in touch with his probation officer and had not enrolled in court-ordered treatment, but he also had not paid fines or gotten permission to leave the state of Colorado.
The Colorado DUI attorney who is currently representing John Bowlen filed a motion in Arapahoe to have his arrest warrant rescinded. However, that motion was denied.
Because of Bowlen’s previous legal issues, his DUI case has gotten a lot more complicated. If you have been arrested for drinking and driving, do not follow in his foot steps. Enlist the help of an experienced DUI lawyer in Colorado in order to walk you through the legal process.
Here’s what you need to do first if you are facing DUI charges in Colorado:
Ask for a hearing at the DMV.
If you refused to take a chemical test at the time of your DUI arrest in Colorado, or if you took a chemical test and it revealed a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher, you have to contact the Department of Motor Vehicles in Colorado within seven days. If you don’t, you may lose your right to an administrative hearing and the chance to keep your driver’s license. Failure to request a hearing will result in your driver’s license being automatically revoked.
Hire a Colorado DUI lawyer.
Colorado DUI law states there are two completely separate legal proceedings if you are arrested for DUI. The first one is an administrative proceeding that decides whether or not your license is suspended; the second one is a criminal case that decides your consequences, be it fines or jail time. An experienced DUI attorney in Arapahoe will be able to guide you through both legal processes in order to get the best outcome possible.
Request the presence of your arresting officer at your DMV hearing.
If your arresting officer does not show up to your hearing after you requested their presence, you get to keep your license. An officer not showing up gives your Colorado DUI lawyer the opportunity to question their actions and assertions in regard to your DUI charge.
Are you facing charges for driving under the influence in Arapahoe? Contact our DUI attorneys in Colorado today to schedule a free case evaluation.