Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense that could result in the suspension of driving privileges and even jail time. While most drivers understand the severity of driving under the influence and the negative repercussions it has for both other drivers and for themselves, sometimes there is a lack of awareness about the extensiveness of the collateral damage this charge brings about. If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, and you’re unsure about what exactly it represents and the various ways in which it can impact your present and future, we recommend reading through this article and getting in touch with a skilled and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney in Jackson, Mississippi.
What is a DUI Charge and How Can it Impact Your Life?
Macmillan Dictionary defines DUI, also known as “driving under the influence, as the crime of driving after you have taken drugs or drunk too much alcohol.” Depending on whether this is your first time committing the offense, or your second or third time, you could be charged as a first-time offender in which case you will typically be charged with a misdemeanor. Some states, however, are beginning to strengthen laws and impart first-time offenders with felony charges. So, if you want to keep your driving privileges or avoid the possibility of a criminal record, it’s important that you abstain from engaging in this sort of behavior. But if you have already been presented with a DUI charge in the state of Mississippi you will want to be well informed on any other consequences you could face as a result of this charge.
Driving Under the Influence in the State of Mississippi
According to The Mississippi Bar “the law defines intoxication as a blood alcohol concentration level of .08 percent for adults, .04 percent for commercial drivers, and .02 percent for minors (under 21 years of age). In the state, “adult first-time offenders face a fine of $250 to $1,000, imprisonment for up to 48 hours, or both. First offenders also face suspension of their drivers’ licenses for up to one year or 90 days upon completion of MASEP. If the driver did not refuse the chemical test, the suspension may be reduced to 30 days. A commercial driver faces a suspended license for one to three years.” Clearly, being charged with a DUI could greatly impact and destabilized your life, as well as your livelihood, because once charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, employers will likely not want to hire you.
To face this head-on with professional legal help, we highly recommend reaching out to a personal injury attorney in Jackson, Mississippi at Ballard Law at (769) 572-5111.