Each year, law enforcement across the U.S. arrested over a million people for drunk driving each year. In the state of Georgia that translated to approximately 25,000 drunken and drugged driving arrests in 2015, according to Statistic Brain. If you are charged with a DUI in Atlanta, there will be repercussions, and you need to be aware of them so that you can make the best decision in your case.
First DUI in Atlanta
Regarding drunk driving, Georgia has two grades of DUI charges DUI “per Se” and DUI-driving under the influence. Those charges are based on your level of intoxication and the requirements the prosecution needs to secure a conviction.
Driving under the influence is a charge that applies when a motorist is visibly or mentally impaired, but their blood alcohol concentration is under Atlanta’s legal limit of 0.08 percent. To get a conviction for this charge the prosecution only needs observations of intoxication.
DUI “per se” applies when the prosecution has evidence of a motorist’s blood alcohol concentration, and it is 0.08 percent. It’s hard to challenge a DUI “per se” since your BAC is sufficient evidentiary proof of impairment under Georgia law.
Penalties for First Offense Atlanta DUI
Jail: Up to one year
Fine: $300 to $1,000
License Suspension: Up to one year
Community Service: Mandatory minimum of 40 hours
Ignition interlock: Must be utilized once your license is restored
Jail: Minimum 48 hours up to one year
Fine: $600 to $1,000
License suspension: Three years
Community Service: 30 days
Mandatory clinical evaluation for substance and rehabilitation if recommended by evaluator
Jail: Mandatory minimum 15 days
Fine: Minimum $1,000 up to $5,000
License Revocation: Five years
Community Service: Minimum 30 days
Other Penalties: Your name will be published in a local paper at your expense, your license plate will be confiscated and you must have a clinical evaluation and complete rehab as prescribed.
If you are arrested for DUI a second or third time within that five-year period, it will be considered a repeat DUI offense. A plea bargain for wet reckless will count as a prior count if you are arrested for another impaired driving charge over the lookback period.
All the penalties mentioned above also apply to drugged driving charges as well, but when illicit drugs are involved, you could also face criminal offenses. If you are facing drug-related charges, we USAttorneys can connect you with a criminal defense attorney in Georgia.
Contact a DUI Lawyer in Atlanta
Are you still in jail? Do you need to bail someone out? Getting out of jail for a DUI is usually easy unless there are extenuating circumstances involved. Most DUI offenders are released on bail, but they typically need help from a DUI lawyer, a family member or a friend.
Inmate location services
Fulton County Sheriff’s Department: http://www.fultonsheriff.org/inmate-information.html
Georgia Department of Corrections: http://www.dcor.state.ga.us/GDC/Offender/Query
Fulton County: http://justice.fultoncountyga.gov/PAJailManager/default.aspx
Atlanta City Detention Center
254 Peachtree St. SW,
Atlanta, GA 30303
Fulton County Jail
901 Rice St. NW,
Atlanta, GA 30318
Atlanta Grady Detention Center
80 Jesse Hill Jr Dr. SE,
Atlanta, GA 30303
Don’t take your DUI lightly; you need to get effective representation immediately. USAttorneys.com can connect you with a DUI lawyer in Atlanta who will begin to work on your defense. They understand the immediate and long-term consequences of your charge and strive to give you the best defense. Once you get out of jail, call and set up your free case evaluation today. You can trust the advice of our accredited attorneys and be confident you are getting the best defense.
Also, if you believe you were wrongfully arrested or were physically assaulted by a police officer during your arrest, we suggest you speak with a police brutality attorney in Georgia to see if you have a valid misconduct claim.