When it comes to criminal cases, time is always of the essence, but that’s particularly true as it relates to DUI/DWI cases. That’s why if you have been charged with a DUI, it’s imperative that you reach out to a criminal defense attorney in Jackson, Mississippi right away. This way they can ensure your rights are respected, and that you have time to prepare an unwavering case to present to the courts, when the circumstances call for it. But before contacting a defense attorney we understand you may have some basic questions about DUI/DWI charges, what they mean, the consequences they could bring about based on your state, and how you can go about tackling the case.
DUI/DWI Charges and The Consequences You Face
Per American Addiction Centers, “anyone who is operating a motorized vehicle or a vehicle with any type of drive train can get a DUI-type offense. This includes the use of motorized watercraft, lawnmowers, mopeds, and even non-motorized bicycles.” In terms of the difference between DUI and DWI the article notes that “operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol may be termed with different designations under different circumstances or in different states or jurisdictions, including DUI (driving under the influence), OUI (operating under the influence), or even DWI (driving while intoxicated) …”
In regard to the consequences one may face after being charged with a DUI/DWI/OUI (which will depend on how your state labels the offense), the penalties will also likely vary depending on the state and jurisdiction you find yourself in. In the state of Mississippi for instance, the Department of Public Safety’s Driver Service Bureau, writes that in the state of Mississippi those who are charged with a 1st offense DUI will have to comply with the following: “mandatory suspension for 120 days. MASEP (Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program), along with proof of insurance for three years upon conviction under 63-11-30(2) MS Code of 1972, effective July 1, 2007. To continue driving privileges instead of suspension, driver can request Interlock Restricted Driving License under 63-11-31 MS Code of 1971, effective Oct. 1, 2014.” The driver may also have to cover some fees, such as the “interlock fee to be paid when you [go] to get your Restricted driving license: $175…”
Evidently, DUI/DWI cases can represent major emotional and financial burdens. We recognize that being charged with a DUI is a traumatic and challenging event, but we also know that having the support and counsel of an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney in Jackson, Mississippi can truly help ease the tension you may be experiencing as a result. For more information on an attorney who will have your back through this difficult time, contact Ballard Law at (769) 572-5111.