How To Find Information On DUI Lawyers and DWI Attorneys in Atlanta
In the city of Atlanta, Georgia, if you are pulled over for suspicion of drunk driving and it is determined you are over the legal BAC limit of 0.08, you will be arrested if you are over the age of 21. If a driver is under the age of 21 and caught driving with a BAC of .02 or higher, they too will face the consequences that fit the crime. Atlanta, GA along with all other cities follow the “Zero Tolerance Policy” which means if you are caught driving under the influence, you are subjected to DUI consequences. Minors along with adults will face the appropriate penalties in the event they are convicted for DUI in Atlanta. If a driver possesses an open alcoholic beverage while driving, they will be subjected to a fine no more than $200.
Anyone charged or convicted of a DUI in Atlanta is going to want to hire a local Georgia DUI attorney immediately as these charges can dramatically affect your life and the opportunities you get.
What Consequences Do I Face as a First-Time DUI Offender in Atlanta?
According to Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, if you or a loved one is convicted as a first-time DUI offender, you will face the following penalties:
- Serve time in jail, which can be up to one year.
- Face a minimum fine of $300 or maximum fine of $1,000.
- Have your drivers license suspended for up to one year.
- Required to complete 40 hours of community service, possibly more.
- Pay a $210 license reinstatement fee.
If you wish to contest your charges or want to increase your chances of only being charged with the minimum penalties, including avoiding jail time, we can help you find a DUI attorney in Atlanta, GA who is skilled and knowledgeable in the field. Georgia has strict polices against drunk drivers and rarely do they show any sort of sympathy to a driver who engaged in the act. Therefore, you need someone who knows and understands the law to represent you and your case.
What Happens If I am a Second-Time DUI Offender?
If you or a family member was charged with a second offense DUI in Atlanta and are awaiting the outcome of your trial, you more than likely are looking at:
- A mandatory sentence of 48 hours in jail or possible 90 days to a year depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime.
- A fine ranging from $600-$1000.
- License suspension for three years.
- 30-day minimum of community service.
- $210 license reinstatement fee.
- Mandatory clinical evaluation and possibly the completion of a substance abuse program, at your expense.
If you want to have any chance of walking away from this conviction without facing the maximum penalties, contact us today at USAttorneys.com. Our featured Atlanta DUI lawyers are available to begin assisting you and you don’t want to put the matter off any longer than you may already have.
Call us up now and speak with one of our helpful agents who will gladly work to find you the best DUI lawyer in the city of Atlanta.