Myrtle Beach, SC- Have you been arrested for a DUI in Myrtle Beach? Are you uncertain about the consequences of your DUI? Unless you’ve been charged with a DUI before, you probably have no idea what comes next. Or, what the consequences are if you are convicted. USAttorneys team of DUI lawyers in South Carolina will discuss some of the basics of your DUI charges.
An immediate consequence of a DUI charge in South Carolina is a suspension of your driver’s license. Your license can be suspended for up to six months, but you may be eligible for a temporary or restricted driver’s license. You will be given thirty days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing. If your license is reinstated, you can drive in South Carolina without restrictions.
If you would like to get your license reinstated before your hearing, USAttorneys recommends you speak with a defense lawyer. If you live in Myrtle Beach, we recommend you set up a consultation with DUI attorney Robert A. Hedesh, Esq. LLC.
After you decide what you to do about your driver’s license, you also need to decide whether you will plead not guilty or guilty. Soon after your arrest, you will be scheduled for an arraignment during which you must enter a plea. You need legal assistance before your arraignment so that you enter the right plea. It’s important to note that South Carolina law does not permit plea bargains in DUI cases. If you are planning on pleading not guilty, you must be prepared to take your case to DUI court which means you need an experienced defense attorney on your side.
If you are convicted of your first DUI in Myrtle Beach, you face 48 hours to 90 days in jail, and your conviction stays on your record for ten years. You will also have to pay between $400 and $1,000 in fines and could be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your car.
On top of the legal ramifications, your DUI conviction will impact your job and your wallet. Depending on your occupation, you risk losing your job for a DUI conviction or could have difficulties finding one in the future. You could also jeopardize educational prospects and could be refused a professional license. Also, on top of the fines, license reinstatement fees and other administrative costs associated with a DUI conviction, you face exorbitant auto insurance premiums.
As soon as you can, USAttorneys encourages you to contact DUI lawyer Robert A. Hedesh and set up a consultation. You have a lot to lose if you are convicted of a DUI, so don’t make the mistake of not getting legal help. Call Attorney Robert Hedesh at 843-839-0141 and get his expert advice.
An attorney will look at the facts of your drunk driving case decide which route will have the best outcome.