Too many people are seriously injured in Morro Bay California drunk driving accidents.
Congress recognized the public health crisis in 1966 when car crash fatalities were three times as high as they are today, and created the Department of Transportation and the National Highway Safety Bureau. Because of the serious nature of drunk driving with regard to roadway fatalities, drunk driving laws were passed at the Federal and State levels. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) estimates that roughly 40 percent of all U.S. traffic deaths are alcohol-related to some degree. It is a crime in Morro Bay California to drive while under the influence of alcohol, or other drugs that could impair driving capabilities.
Morro Bay California DUI/DWI
Some states refer to this illegal action as DUI (driving under the influence), and others as DWI (driving while intoxicated), but it is a serious charge with high stakes punishments attached to it. Morro Bay criminal lawyers across the country may be able to help drivers who are charged with DUI and Morro Bay personal injury lawyers could assist accident victims who have been catastrophically injured, or killed by the actions of a drunk driver necessitating the services of a Morro Bay wrongful death attorneys.
Advocates for safer roadways
Federal DUI laws
State DUI laws
State laws vary regarding DUI outcomes. Utah is the only state that has a different BAC than other states. Effective December 30, 2018, Utah’s BAC was set at 0.05.%. 44 states, D.C. and Guam have increased penalties for drivers convicted at higher BACs (specific levels and penalties vary by state. All states have some type of ignition interlock program and judges may require all, or some convicted drunk drivers to install them. It is best for anyone who has been charged with DUI, or been involved in a drunk driving accident to seek a Morro Bay California DUI lawyer who knows the laws of the particular state where the incident occurred.
Driving a vehicle while impaired is a dangerous crime. Tough enforcement of drunk-driving laws has been a major factor in reducing drunk-driving deaths since the 1980s. Charges range from misdemeanors to felony offenses, and penalties for impaired driving can include driver’s license revocation, fines, and jail time. An arrest for even a first-time Morro Bay DUI offense can cost the driver upwards of $10,000 in fines and legal fees. Some states require offenders to install ignition interlock devices at the driver’s own expense.
A conviction for a DUI in Morro Bay California is one of the more costly mistakes a driver can make. A Morro Bay DUI violation may increase insurance rates by 71.0%. There are certain high risk insurance policies and mandatory paperwork that must be filled out, such as an SR-22, a certification that states the insurance policy an individual buys meets state requirements. Individuals can lose their driver’s license, face jail time and legal fees, as well as having an ignition interlock installed in cars, or in the worst case scenario cause death to another person and live with that for their lifetime, which may include jail time.
Hire a Morro Bay California DUI attorney
A Morro Bay drunk driver’s actions immediately after a crash can build a defense platform of a case against them. The penalties for drunk driving depend on factors including blood alcohol level, age, and repeat offender status to name a few. When a drunk individual has caused an accident, or others have been injured by a drunk driver, it is best to contact a Morro Bay DUI to map out strategies in court for either scenario.