Texas doesn’t tolerate drinking and driving, and a conviction will have legal, financial and personal repercussions.  When your blood alcohol concentration exceeds the state’s legal limit of 0.08 percent, you can be charged with driving while intoxicated. Should you have the misfortune of being arrested for DWI, you need to be informed of the criminal and administrative penalties of a DWI in Texas.

Penalties of a DWI Arrest in Plano

Drivers arrested for impaired driving will face immediate penalties. You are going to be taken to the closest jail or police station where you will be processed and detained. Some locations are listed here:

Plano Police Department

909 14th St.,

Plano, TX 75074

plano.gov

 

Addison Jail

4799 Airport Pkwy,

Addison, TX 75001

addisontx.gov

 

Plano Police Department (Substation North)

Building #A, 7501 Independence Pkwy,

Plano, TX 75025

planopolice.org

If you are looking for an inmate in Plano, Texas, but don’t know where they are located, you should use one of these inmate locator tools:

https://apps.collincountytx.gov/JudicialRecords/Inmate/Search

You can also call the Plano City Police (972) 424-5678 or go to the following address:

Plano Police Department

909 14th St.,

Plano, TX 75074

plano.gov

To get out of jail, a judge must approve your release and will set your bail.  A judge may decide to release you on your own recognizance without requiring you to pay any bail. It is difficult to get released on your own recognizance, but a criminal defense attorney may be able to convince a judge.

Bail acts as an assurance to the courts that you will come to your first court date. You can pay the full bail amount, but if you can’t a bail guarantor can pay it for you for a small amount down.

How is Bail Determined?

How much bail is required depends on different factors associated with your arrest including your blood alcohol concentration, prior DWI offense, whether you caused a deadly accident or had your minor child in your vehicle. If you were right at the legal threshold, have no prior offenses, your bail can be as little as a few hundred dollars. The more aggravating circumstances that apply to your arrest, the higher your bail amount will and you could have to pay thousands. A judge is responsible for your bail amount and can be swayed into giving you a lower bail amount by an experienced defense lawyer.

Immediate Driver’s License Suspension

Not only are you going to spend the night or two in the hospital, but you will also have your driver’s license suspended immediately. To ask for an administrative hearing to have your driving privileges restored. You can request a hearing if you have been charged with a DWI or refused a chemical test. You must file your request within 15 days of your arrest.

Texas Department of Public Safety – Driver License Office

2109 W Parker Rd #224,

Plano, TX 75023

txdps.state.tx.us     

Not all DWI cases are straightforward. Some DWI cases involve immigrants, and others involve police misconduct. If you are an immigrant, you should contact an immigration attorney to inform you of the consequences of your charge.  A police misconduct lawyer in Texas will look at the facts of your case and determine if you have solid grounds to file a formal complaint.

What If I’m Convicted of a DWI in Plano?

First DWI Offense

Jail: 3 days up to 180 days.

Fines: $2,000

Driver’s License: Suspension not mandatory

Ignition Interlock Device: Possible

Other Penalties: Annual surcharge to keep your driver’s license; participation in DWI education program

 

Second DWI Offense

Jail: One month and one year.

Fines: $4,000 fine

Driver’s License: Suspension for two years; $2,000 annual surcharge

Ignition Interlock Device: Possible

Other Penalties: Participation in DWI education program

Third DWI Offense

Jail: Two years up to ten years

Fines: $10,000 fine

Driver’s License: Suspension up to two years; $2,000 for three years to keep your license.

Ignition Interlock Device: Possible

Other Penalties: Participation in DWI education program

A DWI conviction is going to cost you plenty. You’ll lose some of your freedoms, you’ll lose your license, and it will cost you close to $10 grand or more. For those reasons, you need to enlist a DWI lawyer in Plano to work on your defense. Our top-notch team will do whatever they can get your charges and penalties reduced. USAttorneys can connect you with someone who can give your defense the time and attention it deserves.