If you were arrested for a DUI in Mesa, you need to prepare yourself for rocky times ahead because Arizona is tough on intoxicated drivers. In a recent analysis of DUI laws, financial services website WalletHub found that out of all fifty states, Arizona has the harshest DUI laws in the country. That is just one thing you need to know about your impaired driving charge; there are many others. Our DUI lawyers in Mesa will discuss some of the other things you need to know about your charges and potential consequences if you are convicted.
Penalties for DUI in Mesa
There are several penalties for your first-time DUI including jail time and license revocation. In Arizona, the minimum jail term is 24 hours with no exceptions if you are convicted, but you could be sentenced to as many as ten days. Your license will be revoked for at least 90 days and must pay a minimum $750 fine plus your conviction stays on your record for seven years. Additionally, you will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and the costs will come out of your pocket.
Those are just the legal penalties; a DUI conviction will impact your job, your educational opportunities and your immigration status if you are a visa holder, green card holder or are undocumented. An immigrant facing a DUI charge should decide how to handle their case after speaking with an immigration attorney near your Arizona location.
Going to Jail in Mesa
Many DUI offenders will go to jail immediately. Once an officer has gathered the evidence they need, you can be locked and kept in jail until your arraignment. That could be the next day or a couple of days depending on the day of the week you were arrested and whether it was over a regular or extended holiday weekend.
If you want to get out of jail before your arraignment, someone you know can bail you out, or you can contact an attorney. Below are the addresses of jails in and around the Mesa area:
Estrella Women’s Jail
2939 W Durango St.,
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Mesa Police Department’s Holding Facility
130 N Robson,
Mesa, AZ 85201
Maricopa County Jail
225 W Madison St.,
Phoenix, AZ 85003
Inmate lookup for Maricopa County: https://www.mcso.org/InmateInfo
With a criminal defense lawyer in Arizona on your side, you will get out of jail quicker. You’ll also have some who can argue that you should get time served and take whatever steps are necessary to get your penalties reduced and keep a conviction from going on your record.
Your Driver’s License is Revoked
Not only are you going to jail, but your license will be revoked immediately. You may be prohibited from driving for as few as ten days and as many as 360 days.
To get your license back, the Arizona DOT requires you to:
Pay a $20 reinstatement fee
File a Certificate of Insurance (an SR-22)
Take a written, vision and road test
Why Do I Need a DUI Lawyer in Mesa?
Arizona does not allow you to ask for a plea bargain for a DUI charge, so having a DUI lawyer in Mesa working on your defense. USAttorneys.com can connect you with an experienced and tenacious lawyer near you to help you avoid a DUI conviction. We recommend you can set up a case evaluation and learn what steps you can take to avoid a drunk driving or drugged driving charge.