DWI lawyers explain what penalties she might be facing.
A College Station woman was arrested for DWI recently and it wasn’t because she was stopped by officers who suspected she was driving while intoxicated. Twenty-one-year-old Kaysey Weber is now facing a DWI charge after a staff member from Whataburger located at 105 Dominik Drive called the College Station Police after witnessing the young woman driving recklessly.
According to KBTX, it was early Thursday morning when Weber drove her vehicle into the parking lot of Whataburger and nearly hit an employee several times before driving over the curb in the parking lot. At around 1:41, the staff member finally contacted the police department informing officials that they believed the woman was under the influence. Aside from driving recklessly, her speech was allegedly slurred during the time she ordered her food.
After police were dispatched and headed toward the establishment, they caught up with Weber at the intersection of George Bush Drive and Anderson Street. When the College Station officers approached Weber, they stated she smelled of alcohol and had a stamp on her hand similar to those that are given at a bar or nightclub. Police then had Weber submit to a field sobriety test and charged her with DWI. Although her BAC, blood-alcohol content level was not disclosed, Weber is going to be facing DWI charges along with the corresponding consequences this crime carries. Aside from that, she may even be hit with additional charges after nearly striking a Whataburger employee.
What penalties does a DWI charge carry in Texas?
If this Weber’s first encounter with the law and her first DWI offense, she is looking at the following penalties:
- A fine of up to $2,000.
- Three days to 180 days in jail.
- Loss of driver license up to a year.
- Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for a three-year period to retain her driver’s license.
[Source: Texas Department of Transportation].
Had Weber refused to take a blood or breath test, she would have automatically had her license suspended for 180 days, or possibly even longer depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime.
Now, if this wasn’t her first offense but the second time she has been charged with DWI, she could potentially be faced with the following penalties:
- A fine of up to $4,000.
- One month to a year in jail.
- Loss of driver license for up to two years.
- Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for a three-year period to retain her driver’s license.
When can I be charged with DWI in Texas?
In the state of Texas, if a person is caught driving with a BAC level of .08 or higher, they are considered to be over the legal limit and would be charged with DWI.
Some things that would also affect the degree of the charge and what penalties a person would be faced with when charged with DUI/DWI in Texas include:
- Prior convictions
- Whether or not the person caused an accident that resulted in an injury or death.
- If an open container of alcohol was found inside of the vehicle at the time of the arrest.
- If drugs were found inside the vehicle.
- Your age.
- Whether you are a commercial driver and were operating a commercial vehicle at the time you were pulled over.
Because DWI charges can be pretty serious and can often increase when an accident has occurred, it is in your best interest to hire a College Station DWI lawyer who can fight these charges and potentially get them reduced.
If you were recently arrested for driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol and have yet to retain a lawyer, contact the Wagnon Law Group, PLLC. today and speak with a knowledgeable DWI defense attorney to learn more about your recent charge.
The Wagnon Law Group, PLLC can be reached at:
504 E. 27th Street
Bryan, TX 77803