No two drunk driving charges are alike in Colorado. The state treats drunken driving charges differently according to how drunk you are at the time of your arrest. The more alcohol you have in your system, the worse your charges will be, and you’ll be given a tougher sentence.
Under Colorado law, drunk driving charges are treated differently depending on your blood alcohol concentration or BAC, which can be measured in the field with a breathalyzer or at the hospital via a chemical test.
If you refuse a breathalyzer, you can be charged a violation of Colorado’s implied consent laws which results in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license for one year. In many cases, the license suspension periods are shorter if you are convicted of a DUI.
DWAI- Driving While Ability Impaired
This charge applies to drivers who are visibly impaired but don’t reach the state’s legal limit of 0.08 percent. To be convicted of DWAI, you merely need to exhibit signs of impairment such as slurred speech or be unsteady on your feet. These cases tend to rely heavily on an officer’s observations or eyewitness accounts. A DWAI won’t look good on your record, but the penalties are not nearly as severe as a DUI.
A conviction for DUI can result in 180 days in jail and a $500 fine, but there is no minimum license suspension.
If your BAC is 0.08 percent or more, you can be charged with driving under the influence or DUI. It’s a serious charge that can result in up to one year in jail, fines up to $1,000 and your license will be suspended for up to nine months.
If your BAC is 0.15 percent or higher, you can be labeled a persistent offender and will be subject to additional penalties and costs.
Marijuana is legal for recreational and medical use in Colorado, but it is illegal to drive with a specified amount of THC in your blood. In Colorado Springs and statewide, you can be charged with a DUI-marijuana if you have five nanograms of THC in your blood stream.
Sometimes, during an arrest, a police officer uses more force than necessary or severely mistreats a suspect, you should set up a consultation with a police brutality lawyer in Colorado. They can investigate and determine if your rights were violated.
Getting Out of Jail
After your arrest, your first goal should be to get out of jail. You can enlist a DUI lawyer in Colorado Springs to help you get out
El Paso County Sheriff’s Office: https://www.epcsheriffsoffice.com/inmate-search#!/search
Colorado Department of Corrections: https://www.doc.state.co.us/oss/
Zebulon Pike Detention Center
1427 W Rio Grande St.,
Colorado Springs, CO 80905
El Paso County Criminal Justice Center
2739 E Las Vegas St.,
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Colorado Department of Corrections
1250 Academy Park Loop,
Colorado Springs, CO 80910
Contact a DUI Lawyer in Colorado Springs
A scope of your DUI conviction extends well beyond the troubling legal consequences, your reputation will take and hit, and a DUI can hinder your private life. It is in your best interest to fight the charges against you by retaining a DUI lawyer in Colorado Springs.
Let USAttorneys.com connect you with a nearby defense attorney to work on your case. One of our skilled team in Colorado Springs develop an effective defense strategy and give you a better chance of beating a DUI conviction or getting a favorable plea bargain. Arrange a case evaluation with one of our accomplished lawyers.