Frequently Asked Questions
Cuyahoga County, OH- Thousands of Ohioans are arrested, charged and convicted of operating a vehicle impaired. If you happen to be one of those unfortunate individuals, you probably have many questions about your charges. In this article, our team of OVI lawyers in Cuyahoga County, Ohio will share a few of questions they are frequently asked.
Will my driver’s license be suspended?
Yes, your license will automatically be suspended for a minimum of six months and possibly up to a year. License suspension is one of the immediate consequences of an OVI and occurs before you are even convicted. Losing your license can be a huge burden and could cause you to lose your job. For some OVI offenders, it is possible to get limited driving privileges or have your license reinstated permanently.
What happens if I refuse a breathalyzer?
If you refuse a breathalyzer in Ohio, you will lose your license immediately because of the state’s implied consent law. You could also face charges for OVI and for refusing a breathalyzer and even if you avoid an OVI charge, you can still be convicted for refusal.
What are the penalties for an OVI conviction?
If you are convicted of your first OVI in Ohio, you could be sentenced to a minimum of 3 days in jail or up to 6 months. The length of your jail sentence depends on several factors like your blood alcohol concentration, prior DUI arrests and whether an accident was involved. In addition to a jail sentence, you could pay up to $1,000 in fines and fees, and your auto insurance rates will skyrocket. Additionally, your conviction will remain on your record for up to six years.
Will I have to install an ignition interlock device?
Under Ohio law, convicted OVI offenders are not required to install an ignition interlock device in their car until their third conviction. However, you can request an ignition interlock device
Under Ohio law, ignitions interlock devices are only installed in a person’s car upon their third OVI conviction. Though it may be possible for some offenders to request an ignition interlock in exchange for limited driving privileges.
An OVI lawyer can help you avoid a drunk driving conviction.
Is a plea bargain possible?
Some OVI offenders in Ohio are offered a plea bargain of wet reckless which is a reckless driving charge involving alcohol. To get a plea bargain, you need to have a DUI lawyer negotiating on your behalf. You should know that if you agree to a wet reckless charge, it will count as prior OVI conviction if you face a repeat impaired driving charge. ‘
Those are a few of the frequently asked questions OVI offenders have if you have more USAttorneys recommends you speak with an OVI lawyer in Cuyahoga County and then decide what defense strategy you plan on pursuing. You can avoid conviction by hiring a defense lawyer immediately.