Newport Beach, CA- According to court documents in Dennis Rodman’s DUI case, the former NBA player had a blood alcohol concentration twice California’s legal limit. Being over twice the legal limit could result in a harsher sentence if the prosecution secures a conviction.

Report Reveals Dennis Rodham’s BAC Was Twice Legal Limit During DUI Arrest

In early January, former pro-baller Dennis Rodman was arrested and charged with DUI in Newport Beach, California after he was pulled over for weaving. After speaking to Rodman, police suspected he was intoxicated and asked him to perform field sobriety tests which he failed, according to TMZ.

A breathalyzer also revealed he was over the California legal limit of 0.08 percent and he was placed under arrest.

Now, weeks after the incident, TMZ has obtained court records which show Rodman’s blood alcohol concentration was 0.21 percent, more than twice the legal limit. That will count against him when he heads to court, and so will the 2016 hit-and-run accident he caused in Orange County, California. He was given three-years’ probation for the wrong-way crash.

TMZ reports that Rodman has a prior DUI arrest from 1999.

High BAC and Other Aggravating Factors in DUI Cases

Not all DUI charges in California are treated equally. Some factors such as speed make the severity of a defendant’s DUI charges worse and result in more stringent penalties. You can be charged with an aggravated DUI in California for the following reasons:

  • Driving drunk with a child 14 and under in your vehicle which results in an additional 48 hours in jail for a first offense.
  • Causing an accident that harms or causes the death of one or more people which carries a sentence enhancement of one year per victim or a maximum of three years.
  • Speeding more than 20 miles over the speed limit while intoxicated can add up to 60 days to a defendant’s sentence.
  • Driving drunk through a road work zone results in higher fines.

While there is no official sentencing guideline for DUI defendants with a high blood alcohol concentration, it is a factor a judge will consider for sentencing purposes. A judge is more likely to give a driver who is double or triple the legal limit the maximum jail sentence allowed by law and be more lenient on a driver with a low or borderline BAC. Having a prior DUI on your record will also count against you when it comes to the severity of your charges and penalties.

A high BAC will also affect whether you will get an offer for a plea bargain. Prosecutors take drunken driving seriously and face pressure from the community to aggressively pursue drunk drivers which means they are reluctant to offer plea bargains to DUI defendant especially if they are incredibly intoxicated or other aggravating circumstances apply to their arrest.

A DUI defense lawyer in California can help you negotiate a plea bargain if that is the best route for you to take, or they can build a strong defense if you prefer to fight your charges in court. Talk to a lawyer today and learn the best course of action for you to pursue. You can count on the defense teams at will look for your best interests and give you sound advice.

Why You Need to Fight a DUI Charge

Over a million Americans are arrested for drinking and driving every year despite the legal problems it entails. Those issues can include a jail sentence, probation, high-cost fines and suspension of the convicted person’s driver’s license. If you were charged with a DUI and want to learn about the penalties and possible defenses, recommends you use our site to find a defense attorney near your California location. They will discuss the sentences associated with a DUI conviction which include:

  • Immediate suspension
  • Up to six months in jail for a first DUI defense
  • Fines up to $3,600
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Suspension of driver’s license for up to six months

If any aggravating factors apply to your case, the penalty enhancements will be added to the sentences listed above. For instance, if you are convicted of one count of DUI with a minor in your car, you could be sentenced to six months for your DUI conviction plus an additional 48 hours for the enhancement.

A conviction for DUI also has personal and professional consequences. You could lose your job if you drive for a living or need a professional license. Over time, a DUI conviction can cost you several thousand dollars in inflated insurance rates, fines, costs of DUI diversion programs and addiction treatment.

You can avoid a DUI conviction and the legal and personal ramifications with the right defense. An attorney can be instrumental in securing a reduced sentence for your DUI. Let connect you with someone who can with your charges.

Call a DUI Lawyer in California

A DUI lawyer can assist you with all aspects of your DUI. For individuals still in jail, a defense lawyer can attorney will ensure you understand the terms of your release and begin working on a defense strategy. They will also help you get your driver’s license back with limited privileges until your you resolve your case.

Don’t underestimate the seriousness of a DUI, call and arrange a consultation with one of the experienced defense lawyer. You can minimize the short-term and long-term ramifications of your DUI. Act quickly and get legal assistance right away; your future is on the line. Call now; your first consultation is free.