A DUI/DWI charge will most likely result in the offender losing their driving privileges for a short or long period of time. It all comes down to the crime, where is happened, who was involved, and the degree of the charge. Because a DUI stems from driving, it is only logical that the guilty individual can’t engage in this activity until they have time to recollect on their behavior.
Although each case is unique to the circumstances surrounding it, there are times where a person may or may not lose their privilege to drive.
A DUI lawyer in Tennessee can help determine if you are eligible to keep your driving privileges when charged with DWI.
What are the driving penalties when charged with DUI in TN?
A first time offender who fails to submit to a breathalyzer or blood test could lose the chance to drive for up to one year. A second time offender would see that time doubled. If the driver engaged in an accident and injured a person, they could be facing 2 years of having their license suspended and five years if the crash resulted in a death.
First time offenders convicted of DUI face one year of having their license suspended. A second time offender faces two years without a license, and a third time offender could ultimately lose their driving privileges for six-10 years according to the Department of Safety & Homeland Security.
Who qualifies for a restricted license?
There are some cases where a DUI offender is offered the opportunity to operate their vehicle with a restricted license. For instance, a second time offender may be provided with this opportunity after they complete their first year of license revocation. A court may allow this in specific situations and will generally only grant this to those who need to get to work or school.
You can always speak to your Nashville DWI lawyer if you are currently facing charges to determine if you qualify for this.
Can I beat a DUI charge?
For anyone who ever finds themselves in a situation where they are being accused of driving drunk or under the influence of a substance, refusing to take a breath test or blood test could actually help beat the DUI charge. The only time you want to refuse this test is if you believe your BAC, blood alcohol content level, is below 0.08. If you aren’t sure, you may want to reconsider taking this test.
For those who have already been charged with DUI/DWI in Tennessee and have yet to retain legal help, you may want to consult with a local Nashville DUI attorney who can help evaluate your case and determine what can be done. Cobb & Waites Attorneys at Law work with individuals who have DUI convictions and can work to get your charges reduced. You can contact these reputable DUI lawyers by calling 615-649-0049 today to schedule your free consultation.