Largo, FL—The State of Florida views driving under the influence as a serious crime, whether it is a person’s first time being charged with DUI or their second. When a person operates their vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, it could be putting many lives at risk, including the driver’s, which is one of the reasons why the State looks to punish offenders with harsh penalties.

Some of the penalties an individual might face being a first-time DUI offender in Largo, FL include1:

 

  1. Having to pay a fine.

First-time DUI offenders may be required to pay a fine between $500 and $1,000 if their blood/breath alcohol level (BAL) is less than .15. For those who have a BAL of .15 or higher, they may be required to pay a fine of $1,000 to $2,000.

 

  1. Serving a prison sentence.

If a first-time DUI offender is convicted of DUI, they may be required to serve a prison sentence of up to six months. For those with a BAL of .15 or higher, the prison sentence is increased to a maximum of nine months. The court may or may not allow an individual to serve some or all of their prison sentence in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).

 

  1. Losing their driving privileges.

Another penalty many DUI offenders face is having their driving privileges revoked for a certain period of time. If an individual is convicted of DUI in which there were no bodily injuries sustained as a result of the crime being committed, an individual may lose their license for a minimum of 180 days and up to one year. The revocation period does increase when injuries were sustained.

 

  1. Having to complete DUI school.

First-time DUI offenders are often required to complete DUI school if they are looking to get their driver’s license privileges reinstated so they can travel to and from work, school, and to doctor appointments. It is important to note that not all DUI offenders qualify to receive a hardship license.

DUI convictions may not only result in a person facing serious consequences, but having the conviction on their record also looks bad. Insurance companies may not want to renew their auto policy and employers might turn them away. If an individual was charged with DUI in Largo, FL, and would like to have a DUI attorney assess their case and determine what the likelihood is of them getting their charges reduced to a less severe degree, they can contact Trevena | James, Attorneys At Law.

 

With its office based in Largo Florida, Trevena | James, Attorneys At Law primarily practices in Pinellas, Hillsborough, and Pasco County, and throughout the state of Florida.

 

Trevena | James, Attorneys At Law is located at:

 

801 W Bay Drive, Suite 509

Largo, FL 33770

Phone: 727-581-5813

Website: www.trevenajames.com

 

Source:

  1. https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/education-courses/dui-and-iid/florida-dui-administrative-suspension-laws/
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *