Jefferson County, MO– Memorial Day weekend proved to be dangerous throughout Missouri with drunken drivers killing several people and harming many other. While the victims of those deadly crashes paid the ultimate price, the accused drivers also face legal consequences, which USAttorneys will discuss here.
KSDK reports that six people were killed in DWI accidents over the three-day weekend, a decrease over last year. In addition to the deaths, the station reports that 128 people were injured in the many accidents that occurred over the holiday. There was a seventh road fatality, but it didn’t involve a drunken driver.
Even though there were fewer DWI fatalities this year, KSDK reports that Troopers arrested 135 impaired drivers this Memorial Day. Last year, they made 105 DWI arrests.
First offense: There is no minimum jail sentence for a first DWI charge in Jefferson County and the whole state, but your license will be revoked for 30 days and then suspended for thirty days. There are no fines, but you will face administrative fees if you want to get your license back.
Second offense: The minimum jail sentence is up to one year in jail and fines of $1,000. Your license will be revoked for at least a year, and you will be required to install and ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
You may not risk jail for a first or second DWI offense in Jefferson County, but you could be facing a long jail term and a myriad of other consequences if you cause a fatal DWI accident. If you cause a fatal accident while impaired, you could be charged with involuntary manslaughter which carries a jail sentence of up to seven years and fines over $5,000. Your driver’s license could be revoked for an extended period, and you could be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. But those consequences may not be all; you could also face a wrongful death suit which could result in a high-dollar settlement.
USAttorneys wants to underscore how serious a DWI charge is, whether it involves a fatal accident or your basic first offense. You need someone on your side who can provide you with a strong defense and minimize the consequences you are facing. They will leave no stone unturned in your defense so that you will have the best possible outcome.
When you retain one of our DWI lawyers in Jefferson County, Missouri, working on your defense, you have someone with exceptional skills and experience on your side. Let USAttorneys connect you with an attorney today. They will know what’s best for you, so call and set up a consultation. A short one is free, so you have nothing to lose.