A DUI lawyer in Greenville, Mississippi discussed the basics of a drunk driving arrest

Greenville, MS- Mississippi law enforcement makes thousands of DUI arrests every year, but many DUI offenders have no idea what their charges entail or what penalties they are facing. Here, USAttorneys’ legal team in Greenville will discuss the basics of DUI charges in Mississippi.

When can you be charged with DUI in Mississippi?

You can be charged with DUI in Mississippi if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. Alcohol-impaired motorists under the age of 21 can be charged with DUI if their BAC is a mere 0.02 percent. Unlike other states, Mississippi does not have a sentencing enhancement for BAC exceeding 0.15.

While most DUIs result from drunk driving, some people face drugged driving charges. In Mississippi, it is illegal to drive with any substance that causes impairment in your system. To avoid a drugged driving conviction, you must demonstrate you weren’t affected by a substance at the time of your arrest.

Penalties for a DUI conviction                                                                                                              

Penalties for your first DUI conviction in Greenville include up to 48 hours in jail, fines ranging between $250 and $1,000 and a mandatory license suspension of 90 days. There is no requirement to install and ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

Other consequences of a DUI

The legal consequences are not all; DUI offenders feel the impact of their conviction in many areas of their life. A person can lose their job, and prospective employers may be reluctant to hire a person with a DUI charge. A DUI conviction is costly because of the penalties, fines, and court costs, and skyrocketing insurance premiums. DUI offenders also have to pay administrative fees before getting their license back.

Can I get a plea bargain?

No, plea bargains are not possible in Mississippi, which is anyone accused of drunk or drugged driving should retain a DUI defense attorney to assist with their case.

USAttorneys recommends you speak with a DUI lawyer near you in Greenville. They are dedicated and skilled lawyers who understand the high stakes that go along with a DUI conviction. They will do their best to help you avoid conviction or minimize the consequences you face. Call one of our knowledgeable lawyers as soon as you are able and set up a consultation.

If you are facing a drunk driving charge in Greenville, you should retain a defense attorney immediately.