Have you been arrested for DUI recently? Were you charged with an “extreme” or aggravated DUI? Arizona has three categories of DUIs which vary according to a person’s level of intoxication and severity of penalties should you be convicted.
Arizona Has a Three Categories of DUI Charges
In a 2016 study of DUI laws nationwide, Wallet Hub found that Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. It has three categories of drunken driving charges, the severity of which is determined by your blood alcohol concentration or other aggravating circumstances. Your Arizona DUI charges and penalties get worse if you have high levels of alcohol in your system. Those charges are:
DUI-BAC 0.08 percent to 0.149 percent
Penalties: Minimum of 10 days in jail, no less than $1,2500 in fines, mandatory participation in alcohol assessment court and community service. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car.
Extreme DUI-BAC of 0.15 percent or above
Penalties: 30 days in jail; fines up to $900, one-year license revocation, mandatory participation in an alcohol assessment course and installation of an ignition interlock device.
Aggravated DUI- You can be charged with an aggravated DUI in Albuquerque if you have been charged with your third DUI in 84 months, you were DUI with a minor child in your car, and DUI with a suspended or revoked license.
Penalties include: Maximum of two years in jail, license revocation for one year, attendance at an alcohol assessment course and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.
You will be sent to prison for not more than two years and, in addition to any other penalty required by law, your license will be revoked for one year. You will also be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment and to equip any vehicle you operate with a certified ignition interlock device, and be ordered to perform community service.
For immigrants, a DUI can also carry the penalty of deportation depending on the gravity of your charges and whether you have prior offenses or not. USAttorneys recommends you consult with an immigration lawyer in Arizona as soon as you are able.
Drugged Driving is Also Harshly Punished
Not all impaired drivers are drunk; some are under the influence of illicit drugs, marijuana or prescription drugs. A drugged driving charge is serious and is often worse because you may also face drug-related charges. In that case, you need to retain a DUI and criminal defense lawyer in Tucson to work on your defense.
Your Arrest and the Aftermath
If you have been arrested for a DUI of any level, you will want to get out of jail as soon as possible. That means someone, a parent, a friend, a spouse is going to have to post bond and bail you out of jail. Or, if you prefer, you can get an attorney to assist with the bond process.
Pima County has an inmate location service available online.
Following are locations of jails in the Tucson area:
Pima County Jail – Minimum Security Facility
1801 S Mission Rd,
Tucson, AZ 85713
Pima County Adult Detention Complex
1270 W. Silverlake Road
Tucson, Arizona 85713
Once you are released from jail, you should contact a DUI lawyer in Tucson and arrange a case evaluation. At USAttorneys, we have a knowledgeable and skilled team of lawyers near your Arizona location to work on your defense. You won’t regret enlisting a defense attorney to work on your case. Let us connect you with one today.