Criminal charges can result in serious penalties and disruptions to various areas of your life. Depending on the whether this is your first or second offense you could be facing a series of life altering ramifications. If you or someone you know has recently been charged with a DUI, we suggest getting in contact with a seasoned and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney in Traverse City, Michigan. They are well-versed in Michigan’s DUI laws, and they know the ins and outs of the legal system.
DWI/DUI: Variations Depending on the State
According to Cornell Law School, “DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) and DUI (Driving Under the Influence) are driving violations with two separate parts; one part is administrative and the other is criminal. The administrative component of a DWI or DUI falls under the domain of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). It begins when a law enforcement officer asks a driver to give breath, blood, or urine for chemical testing. Although drivers are allowed to refuse chemical testing, refusal results in an automatic suspension of driving licensure in most states. Drivers who refuse chemical testing lose their driving licenses because Motor Vehicle Departments stipulate implied consent as a condition of licensure.” In some states, those who operate a vehicle under the influence are charged with a DUI, while in others they are charged with a DWI charge (driving while intoxicated), OUI (operating under the influence) or OWI (operating while intoxicated). And there isn’t just a variation to name assigned to the offense but there may also be a change in penalties depending on how states classify a specific offense.
Penalties for DUI
In the State of Michigan, according to the Office of Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson, those who operate while intoxicated (OWI) or operate with any presence of a schedule 1 drug or cocaine (OWPD) will be penalized by paying a “$100 to $500 fine”, spending “up to 93 days in jail”, completing “up to 360 hours of community service”, “driver’s license suspension for 30 days, followed by license restrictions for 150 days, possible vehicle immobilization, possible ignition interlock,” and the addition of “six points to [their] driving record.” If you are found to be with high blood alcohols content, the consequences will be much harsher, and if you are charged a second time within 7 years, you will be requested to pay a “$200 to $1000 fine”, spend “5 days to 1 year in jail”, complete “30 to 90 days of community service”, “driver’s license revocation and denial for a minimum of 1 year (minimum of 5 years if there was a prior revocation within 7 years), license plate confiscation, [and] vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days, unless the vehicle is forfeited.”
As you can see DUI charges are severely penalized. If you have been charged with a DUI and desperately need legal counsel and professional assistance from a criminal defense attorney in Traverse City, Michigan, contact the attorneys at the Neumann Law Group at (231) 221-0050.