Munster, IN- If you are facing OWI/DUI in Indiana you probably already understand that you are facing major legal headaches, but may not be aware of the all the consequences you are facing if you are convicted. Here, the team of OWI/DUI lawyers serving Indiana at USAttorneys will discuss some of the more frequently asked questions about OWI/DUI charges.

If I am facing my first OWI/DUI, what are the penalties?

In Indiana, if you are convicted of your first OWI/DUI, you face anywhere from 6 days to 1 year in jail. You will also have to fines ranging from $500 to $5,000, depending on the circumstances of your arrest and whether you are facing aggravated OWI/DUI charges. You may also be ordered to attend a alcohol assessment programs and may have to serve community service. A conviction will be added to your arrest record and remain on for a minimum of five years.

Will I lose my license?

Even before you are convicted of an OWI/DUI in Indiana, you will lose your license, but you if found not guilty you will be able to get it back. However, if you are conviction of an OWI, you could have your license suspended for up to two years.

Are ignition interlocks mandatory?

Indiana OWI statutes don’t require firsts OWI offenders to install ignition interlock devices in their vehicles, but that doesn’t mean a judge can include that requirement in your sentencing. If you have been ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your case, you are responsible all costs associated with the devices.

Can I ask for a plea bargain?

No, you cannot ask for a plea bargain in your OWI case. An effective defense is your best bet for avoiding the worst of the penalties associated with an OWI conviction.

Can I be charged an OWI if I refused to submit to sobriety test?

You can be charged with refusing to submit to sobriety tests and will automatically lose your license for at least a year with little chance of getting it back. What’s worse is the fact that police can charge you for refusing sobriety tests and charge you for intoxicated driving.  You can also be convicted of both charges, so refusing tests can be a risk that may or may not pay off.

Do I need an Indiana defense lawyer to help with my OWI?

The truth is you don’t have to hire a defense attorney, but it is in your best interest to get expert assistance with your case. Deciding to enter a guilty plea before understanding the consequences can be big mistake that will plague all aspects of your life for years to come. If you have been charged with an OWI/DUI, USAttorneys recommends you contact one of our OWI/DUI attorneys in Indiana to provide you with a strong defense. Backed with their legal expertise, you may be able to avoid conviction or at least mitigate some of the more dire consequences. Don’t hesitate to speak with an attorney to figure out how resolve your case quickly.