After being arrested, charged, and convicted for DUI in the state of New Jersey, offenders soon realize just how much damage they have caused and the repercussions of their actions. In most cases, when an individual is charged with DUI, they should hire a New Jersey DWI attorney immediately to help get the charges reduced, especially if this is the second or third time the offense has occurred. This can sometimes be one of the costlier fees an offender may incur but they do help ease the process and ensure the individual’s rights are upheld.
A NJ DUI attorney may be able to help reduce the costs associated with a DWI charge.
Because DUI is a serious crime, there are many penalties a person faces and the monetary portion of these fines are outlined below.
First Offense Fines and Surcharges
A driver charged for the first time may be responsible to pay between a $300-$500 fine. If they elect to refuse to take the chemical test, an additional fine of $300-$500 may be added on to their charges. A person may also be subjected to a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years when convicted of DUI or if they refuse the chemical test. Keep in mind that the courts have their own fees associated with DUI charges so all those mentioned above are additional. So, a person convicted of DUI could ultimately be paying close to $4,000 the first time they are charged with the crime, not including any additional surcharges and/or fines that come along with the offense.
Second Offense Fines
According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, a driver who is charged with DUI for the second time could face the following fines/surcharges:
- $500-$1,000 fine
- $500- $1,000 fine for refusing chemical test
- A $1,000 insurance surcharge per year for three years if convicted of DUI or if the offender chose not to take the chemical test.
Third Offense DUI Fines
- $1,000 fine
- $1,000 fine if driver refuses chemical test
- A $1,500 insurance surcharge will be required to be paid for a three-year period when convicted of DUI.
Again, these fines and surcharges are only some of the obligations a DUI offender may face. It ultimately comes down to the details surrounding the crime, the number of times the person has been convicted of the crime, and whether or not they have a skilled Parsippany, NJ DUI lawyer working for them to get these amounts reduced.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission also highlights that “failure to pay the surcharge will result in indefinite suspension of all driving privileges and the filing of a judgement against any personal property.
As you can see, there are many other factors that are involved with a DWI/DUI charge and if you have recently been accused of the crime or charged with it, you may want to consult with a local DUI attorney in Parsippany so they can review your case. You may be entitled to get some of the fines and/or fees waived if you have a reputable lawyer working on your side.