Chandler, AZ- For many Arizonans, a DUI will the only legal problems they ever face and they probably don’t realize what the immediate and long-term consequences of their arrest are or will be. That is why the DUI lawyers at USAttorneys wanted to share some facts about your DUI charges.
Will I lose my license?
Yes, you will lose your license. As soon as you are charged with a DUI, law enforcement seizes it and is revoked almost immediately. If you are convicted of your first DUI, your will lose your license for at least between 90 days and 360 days, depending on the circumstances of your arrest and conviction.
What happens if I refused a breathalyzer or chemical test?
Don’t mistake yourself into believing that refusing a breathalyzer or chemical test will keep you from being charged with a DUI. It won’t work because Arizona, like practically every other state, has an implied consent law. Such a law requires you agree to breathalyzer of chemical test or have your license suspended for at least one year. You could also face double the charges: one for refusing and one for DUI.
What are the penalties for a first DUI in South Carolina?
If you are convicted of your first DUI in Arizona you face anywhere between 48 hours in jail and 10 days. A $1,250 fine and you will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your car. You will also be required to take undergo an alcohol assessment which can include regular classes. Making matters worse is the fact that a conviction for a DUI will remain on your record for 7 years.
But the criminal consequences associated with a DUI are not all you have to worry about with your Arizona DUI conviction. You could lose your job because you can’t get back and forth to work and you will also see a dramatic spike in your car insurance premiums. A DUI conviction could also make you look unappealing to a potential employer.
Will I have to install an ignition interlock device?
Yes, ignition interlock devices are mandatory for all DUI offenders. Additionally, you are responsible for paying the installation costs along with the monthly recalibration fees.
Can I get a Plea Bargain?
Arizona statutes don’t allow DUI offenders to plea to a lesser charge, which is why you really need someone to build a defense on your behalf. It’s your best chance of the avoiding a conviction or a severe penalty.
A DUI charge can make life very tough for you. USAttorneys can connect you with a DUI defense lawyer in Chandler, Arizona to help you with your defense. We recommend you contact the Zachary Law Group and set up a case evaluation. They will look at all aspects of your arrest and charges and try to determine the best course of action to pursue.