Clemson, SC- Thousands of South Carolinians are arrested and charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol each year. For many, it is their first DUI charge, so they are unclear about the charges, they are facing and what they should do immediately following their arrest. That is why the team of Alabama DUI lawyers at USAttorneys wanted to discuss a few of the common questions those facing a DUI ask.
Will my license be suspended?
Yes, your license is going to be suspended. The minute you are charged with a DUI, your license will be suspended and you have a small window of opportunity to get it back. If you are convicted of your first DUI your license will be suspended for at least 6 months. If you are convicted of a second DUI, you will lose your license for at least a year.
What happens if I refused a breathalyzer or chemical test?
There is this prevailing notion that of you refuse a breathalyzer or chemical test you won’t be convicted of a DUI. That is true, but you still face consequences. A refusal in South Carolina can result a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license and you could be charged with a refusal and a DUI. That means double the charges and double the consequences.
What are the penalties for a first DUI in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, a first DUI conviction carries a minimum penalty of 48 hours to 90 days in jail and fines ranging from $400 to $1,000. Also, as we discussed earlier, you will lose your license for at least 6 months. What’s more, your DUI conviction will remain on your record for 10 years.
There are also non-criminal consequences associated with a DUI. Some convicted offenders lose their jobs because they can’t get back and forth to work and they will see dramatic spike in their car insurance once they get their licenses back. Some employers won’t even consider hiring a person with a DUI on their record. These are just a few consequences you need to think about if you are on the fence about getting legal help.
Will I have to install an ignition interlock device in my car?
No, ignition interlock devices are only mandatory for repeat DUI offenders, but
Can I get a Plea Bargain?
No, South Carolina DUI statutes don’t allow DUI offenders to plea to a lesser charge, which is why you really need someone to build a winning defense on your behalf.
Don’t let a drunk driving mistake severely impact your life and future. USAttorneys can connect you with a DUI lawyer in Clemson, South Carolina to assist you with your defense. There is too much at stake for you, so you need to try and beat your DUI by getting legal advice. Contact a lawyer today and let them explain the penalties you are facing and how you can beat your charge.