Driving under the influence of alcohol or drug is a crime punishable by law in all states of the country. However, the exact definition of what qualifies as a DUI may vary slightly from one state to the other. For the most part, anyone who operates a motor vehicle with blood alcohol content which is over 0.08% BAC is said to be driving under the influence.
Please note that this limit is only for adult, non-commercial drivers. Understandably, minors and commercial drivers are subjected to thresholds which are way more restrictive and even zero in most states, caution leading DUI lawyers in Hackensack, NJ.
Factors that influence DUI penalties
The consequences of a DUI conviction or a DUI related conviction depends on several factors such as whether a car accident occurred as a result of the DUI, whether anyone was seriously injured or killed, whether it was a repeat offense on part of the convict or a first time offense, was the convict driving on a suspended or revoked license?
Do not try to deal with this on your own. That would be a substantial mistake. You need a dewy lawyer in Hackensack, NJ.
Court imposed fines and penalties
Usually, in most states, a first offense DUI is considered a misdemeanor and consequences are not as severe as a repeat DUI offense. It may involve a fine and the installation of an ignition interlock device and may be even minimal jail time. However, repeat offenders face grave consequences such as hefty fines, and lengthy prison terms, according to New Jersey DUI attorneys.
However, in cases where the suspect’s blood alcohol content registered way over the limit of 0.08% BAC (sometimes even two or three folds over the limit) then the consequences can be very serious despite the fact that it was a first offense.
Hackensack, NJ DUI lawyers explain that if a first time offender registers a BAC of 0.08% but less than 0.10% the penalties and punishments currently include a 3 month suspension of driving privileges in addition to a fine between $250 and $400 and 12 to 48 hours participation in a program at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). They may also face imprisonment up to 30 days.
Now you most likely will not get any prison time for many reasons but your chances could increase of receiving the stiffer penalties if you blatantly mock the law like Fogell (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) did in the movie Superbad. Do not use a fake ID and if you do, do not name yourself McLovin since not only is that ridiculous, it just means you are not that bright. You will probably have the court room laugh at you as well.
On the other hand, a driver who registers a BAC of 0.10% or higher will have his or her driving privileges suspended for 7 months to 1 year and will need to pay larger fines between $300 and $500. Other punishments include imprisonment up to 30 days.
For second and third time offenders the court imposed fines and penalties are much higher which a Hackensack, NJ dewy attorney can discuss with you. However, studies indicate that the average cost incurred by defendants with mid-range BACs is a staggering $6,300 compared to the average cost of $4,600 incurred by low range BAC defendants.
If you have been arrested or charged with DUI, it is prudent to contact a DUI lawyer ihttps://dui-lawyers.usattorneys.com/n New Jersey who can prevent you from incriminating yourself during interrogation.
Your legal pro will leave no stone unturned in finding even the slightest discrepancy in the police report and weaknesses in the claims made by the prosecution. He or she will turn those weaknesses into strengths to help get the best outcome in your case. Use USAttorneys.com to find yourself a high caliber and hard charging legal professional.
Any questions? Contact us and we will get back to you within a couple of hours.