Being criminally charged can be emotionally and financially traumatizing. Not only could it destabilize your life as it is, but it could hinder your hopes and dreams for the future. Depending on the charge, you could face job insecurity, hundreds if not thousands of dollars in fines, and even jail time. Those who are charged with a DUI/DWI for instance may be faced with different repercussions depending on the state they are in. The good thing is that an experienced and knowledgeable attorney by your side can walk you throughout the entire process, from the moment you are handed the charge, to the moment you finalized any sort community service or substance program required by your state. If you or someone you know has recently been charged with a DUI, we highly recommend that you get in touch with a criminal defense attorney in Jackson, Mississippi as soon as you can.
DUI/DWI Laws in the State of Mississippi:
According to Forbes, a “DUI could mean driving under the influence of alcohol, or it may mean driving under the influence of drugs. The drugs could be over the counter, prescription or illegal. DWI, on the other hand, may mean driving while intoxicated or driving while impaired. The precise definitions depend on which state you’re in. Regardless of what it’s called, a charge of DUI or DWI arises when a law enforcement officer thinks you were too impaired to drive. The impairment could be caused by alcohol, drugs, sleepiness or other factors.” And just as the definitions for a DUI and a DWI may vary depending on the state so will the criminal charges and the consequences.
Although in some states those who drive under the influence are charged with a misdemeanor even after their second offense, in other states second-time offenders can be charged with a felony. In the state of Mississippi for instance, according to the National College for DUI Defense, it isn’t until the third offense that drivers are charged with a felony. “Adult drivers who are 21 years and older can be expected to pay a fine of $250 to $1,000 plus state assessments and court costs; spend up to 2 days in jail; [although], substitution of a “victim impact panel”(VIP) may be substituted in lieu of jail; [attend] an alcohol safety education program [to be] completed within 6 months of sentencing, and he or she could also face up to 2 years of supervised probation depending on the judge’s discretion, and will most likely also be subjected to a restriction of driving privileges.”
Driving under the influence is a serious offense and although the consequences you will face as a result of engaging in said behavior will most likely disrupt and challenge your life and lifestyle, a diligent and understanding criminal defense attorney in Jackson, Mississippi such as those at Ballard Law may be able to help lessen the blow, simply by providing exceptional counsel and representation. If you would like to meet with one of our attorneys to discuss your case, call us at (769) 572-5111.