You’ve just committed your second DUI in Florida. So how screwed are you? This is a question that many individuals ask themselves in the Sunshine State, and it’s no mystery why. DUIs can become much more serious if you’re a repeat offender, as this suggests that you haven’t learned your lesson the first time. While you might get a relatively slight “slap on the wrist” for your first offense, the state of Florida really starts to crack down when you’ve committed more than one DUI. So how bad is this situation?
To answer that question, you really need to get in touch with a qualified, experienced DUI accident lawyer in Tampa. These legal professionals can assess your unique situation, make sound recommendations, and help you explore a number of effective defense strategies. Internet research can only get you so far, and the most effective defense strategy must be tailored to meet your unique needs. This is why in-person consultations are crucial, and it’s why you need to take action right away. But we know what you’re thinking: “Where can I find attorneys near me?” Not to worry — there are many criminal defense attorneys in Tampa who can help you.
Second DUI Penalties
If you have committed a relatively “basic” second-offense DUI, then the penalties are admittedly not that much worse than a first offense (1). Instead of a maximum prison sentence of 6 months, you face a maximum prison sentence of 9 months. That’s only a three-month difference.
Instead of your vehicle being impounded for ten days, your vehicle will be impounded for 30 days. That’s just three extra weeks. However, the fine can be double the amount. Instead of a maximum fine of $1,000, you face a maximum fine of $2,000. Still, a difference of $1,000 isn’t exactly a huge deal.
The real issues start to mount when you have certain aggravating factors associated with your accident. For example, if your BAC was over .15, you face much greater penalties. These includes:
- Fines of up to $4,000
- Up to a year in prison
And if you have caused some kind of injury or death, the fact that it was your second DUI doesn’t really matter. You will immediately face a third-degree felony with up to five years in prison. And if you kill someone, you could face a second-degree felony and up to 15 years in prison. On top of this, leaving the scene could result in a prison sentence of up to 30 years (2).
Where Can I Find a Qualified, Experienced Defense Attorney?
If you’ve been looking for a qualified DUI accident lawyer in Tampa, look no further than the Law Office of Edward J. Reyes, P.A. Over the years, we have assisted numerous defendants, including those facing second DUIs. We know that this situation can seem daunting, but we’re ready to fight for your rights in an effective manner. So book your consultation today to get started, and take your first steps towards justice today.
Image Credit: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/User:Nolabob
Image License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/deed.en
Law Office of Edward J. Reyes, P.A.
4730 N. Habana Ave. Suite 201
Tampa, Florida 33614
833-4-BAD DAY (833-422-3329)
If you have further questions about this article or legal concerns call 800-672-3103