A criminal charge at any age can severely affect your life. Regardless of whether or not you were in a conscious headspace while you were committing the offense, now the criminal charges have been laid out against you and you are tasked with the responsibility of preparing a credible and structured case to help you tackle the offense in the most effective way possible. Thankfully, you don’t have to go at it alone, that’s why there are experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys in Traverse City, Michigan who can seamlessly and effortlessly guide you throughout the process so that you get a fair trial and a new shot at life.
Handed a DUI Charge in Traverse City, Michigan?
According to the Legal Dictionary, DUIs “commonly called “drunk driving,” refers to operating a motor vehicle while one’s blood alcohol content is above the legal limit set by statute, which supposedly is the level at which a person cannot drive safely. State statutes vary as to what that level is, but it ranges from .08 to .10. Driving on private property such as a parking lot is no defense but sitting in a non-moving vehicle without the ignition on probably is (sometimes resulting in a charge of “drunk in and about a vehicle”). A well-informed criminal defense attorney who has personally handled DUI cases can help you navigate the nuances of driving under the influence cases in your particular state.
There are various consequences facing individuals who have been caught driving under the influence. These, as mentioned, vary depending on the state, but in the state of Michigan for instance, according to The Office of Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson, there is a “mandatory 6-month driver license suspension, even for a first time conviction. The driver may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension, a mandatory 1-year driver license suspension for a first conviction of operating with a BAC of .17 or higher. This “High BAC” crime is one of the operating while intoxicated offenses. A High BAC driver may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 45 days of the license suspension, but only if an ignition interlock device is installed on any vehicle the offender owns or intends to operate. Ordered participation in, and successful completion of, 1 or more rehabilitation programs…five days to 1 year of consecutive jail time, or 30 to 90 days of community service, or both for a second conviction of drunk or drugged driving…and others. “If you or someone you know is currently facing a criminal charge due to driving under the influence, we recommend getting in touch with a vigorous and practiced criminal defense attorney at Neumann Law Group at (231) 221-0050.