,

How can a lawyer help you when you’re facing DUI charges in Virginia?

Richmond, VA – Most drivers will think nothing of a DUI charge. So, yes, I had a bit too much to drink, what’s the worst that can happen to me? In the Commonwealth of Virginia, if you are caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% you can be charged with drunk driving even if you didn’t commit any traffic violation and you thought you were more or less able to get home safely. 

What are the penalties for DUI in Virginia?

While having a couple of beers may seem innocent enough to you, the truth is that if you’re convicted of a first DUI offense it is a misdemeanor that will remain on your criminal record permanently. Ten years from now, if you apply for a new job they will find out you have a criminal record.

Also, apart from the fines, a criminal DUI charge can result in a restricted or suspended license, you’ll be forced to install an ignition interlock device and you may even go to jail. For instance, if you were caught with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, you’re looking at a minimum sentence of 5 days in jail or the judge can send you behind bars to reconsider your attitude for up to 30 days.

And that’s what can happen for a first offense. Once you become a repeat offender, you can expect the judge to send you behind bars for more, not to mention the steep fines.

How can a Virginia DUI defense lawyer help you?

The first thing an experienced Virginia DUI defense lawyer can do for you is look at the evidence. While you wait for your lawyer do take advantage of your Miranda rights and don’t talk to the cops. In your effort to excuse your behavior, you may end up making things worse.

Probable cause

One possible DUI defense strategy is to argue the evidence against you was illegally obtained. As an example, if you did not commit any traffic rule violation, maybe the police had no right to pull you over and submit you to a breathalyzer test. If the police stop your car without probable cause this may be a violation of your civil rights.

Speaking of breath tests, refusing to submit to one can backfire. Keep in mind that under Virginia laws you may be charged with DUI simply on the police officer’s observations, test or no test. Your driver’s license can be suspended for one year if you refuse to be tested and the judge will be very strict if you are convicted. 

Invalid test

Your Virginia DUI defense lawyers may challenge the validity of the breath test. There are certain rules on how these must be performed and not all officers receive proper training. If there were other people present at the scene, do get their names and contact info as they may be called to testify. 

What happens if I was in a DUI crash?

If someone was injured or killed in the crash, you’re looking at criminal charges and serious jail time so you shouldn’t waste any time. Get a good lawyer right away. Also, if the victims sue you, they may seek punitive damages as well. We’re talking about a maximum of $350,000, on top of the compensatory damages for their medical expenses, lost wages, or pain and suffering.

Attorneys Near Me

If you’re looking for a DUI defense lawyer or need professional help with other legal matters, you may be wondering “Where can I find Attorneys Near Me?” Don’t worry, help is just a few clicks away. Just follow the link to go to the extensive database on usattorneys.com. Select the legal area you’re interested in, your state and your city, and schedule a free consultation with a trustworthy lawyer in your area. 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *