Over 23,000 Arizonans were arrested for DUI in 2014, according to the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety. If you happen to be one of the thousands facing a misdemeanor, Extreme DUI or aggravated DUI, there will be instantaneous consequences and administrative penalties. A conviction will result in additional administrative penalties and legal repercussions.

What Happens If I’m Stopped for a DUI in Reno?

Reno police are always on the lookout for drunk drivers, but they can’t just pull a person over without cause, meaning they must see you violate a traffic law before stopping you. Once they have enough proof that you are intoxicated, you will be arrested and taken to jail for processing and further testing. Below are possible DUI charges in Reno:

Simple DUI– BAC up to 0.08 percent with no prior charges and no enhancements

Extreme DUI– BAC up to 0.15 percent, second DUI offense

Aggravated DUI– Driving while impaired with a revoked, suspended or limited driver’s license; driving with a minor child in your vehicle or third DUI offense over a five-year period.

The level of DUI the prosecution charges you with depends on several factors including your BAC, whether you caused an accident and how many prior offenses you have.

You can be released from jail after being booked unless you have a criminal history or you are accused of felony DUI. If this is your first DUI, and there are no aggravating circumstances are involved, you may be released without being required to pay bail, called an “own recognizance” release. When aggravating circumstances apply, you can be held until you can appear for a bond hearing.

Once your bail is decided, a friend or relative can pay it, and you’ll be released immediately. You can try to get a bond if you cannot afford bail, but you will need to put at least 10 percent down, perhaps more. Your bail amount can be as low as a few hundred up to tens of thousands. To find out a bail amount, just contact the jail where the accused is being held. Use inmate search tool listed below.

Inmate locator:

https://www.washoesheriff.com/inmate-search.php

 

Washoe County Sheriff

911 E Parr Blvd.,

Reno, NV 89512

washoesheriff.com

 

Reno Police Department

455 E 2nd St.,

Reno, NV 89502

reno.gov

 

 

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles

305 Galletti Way,

Reno, NV 89512

dmvnv.com

Administrative Driver’s License Suspension in Reno

Another of the immediate consequences of a DUI in Nevada is a suspension of your driver’s license, and it’s unavoidable. Upon your arrest, your driver’s license will be taken and a temporary one is issued. You have seven days from your arrest to request an administrative hearing and get limited driving

You can appeal an administrative revocation by requesting a hearing before a representative of the DMV. Administrative penalties for a first-offense DUI in Nevada include driver’s license revocation for up to 90 days and mandatory attendance of a victim impact panel.

Commercial drivers can have their CDL suspended or revoked for a year or permanently for a felony DUI.

You can refuse a breathalyzer or a chemical test, but you will be in violation of Nevada’s implied consent law which results in an automatic suspension of your license for one year. It will be very difficult to obtain limited driving privileges for a refusal.

If you would like an administrative hearing, you can visit your local DMV and submit your request. It is your responsibility to request an administrative hearing. The state will not send you a reminder, so you need to stay on top of things.

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles

305 Galletti Way,

Reno, NV 89512

dmvnv.com

Talk to a Lawyer About Defense Strategies

It is possible to beat a DUI charge, but you must take the first step and consult with a criminal defense lawyer in Nevada. It takes legal knowledge and investigatory skills to build a successful defense strategy. At USAttorneys.com, you will find links to experienced and knowledgeable DUI attorneys serving Reno. We recommend you call and schedule a case evaluation to discuss the defense strategy that will work best in your case. Defense strategies that may work in your case:

Questioning an officer’s probable cause to conduct a traffic stop

Challenging the accuracy of a breathalyzer or chemical test

Asking for a plea bargain

Avoid the Penalties of DUI

Following are the criminal penalties for drunken and drugged driving convictions in Nevada:

First DUI Offense

Jail: Two days up to six months

Fines: $400 to $1,000

Driver’s License: 90-day revocation with limited driving privileges

Other Penalties: Vehicle impounded, drug or alcohol abuse treatment and community service

 

Extreme DUI

Jail: Mandatory 30 days

Fine: $500 to $2,500

Driver’s License:

Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory

Above are just a sample of the criminal penalties associated with a DUI conviction in Nevada, there are financial, professional and personal repercussions. By the time you are done with probation and are ready to get your driver’s license back, you could shell out several thousand dollars.

Immigrants are vulnerable to deportation if they don’t fight their charges, so we recommend you speak to an immigration attorney before you make decisions about your DUI or criminal charges.