The Texas DWI attorneys at the Wagnon Law Group, PPLC are the experienced professionals who want to speak with regarding this, however, some helpful information is provided below for your convenience.
First time DWI/DUI offenders who have been found guilty of driving while intoxicated in the State of Texas face certain penalties depending on the charges that have been pinned against them. If you were caught with a BAC, blood-alcohol concentration, of 0.08 or higher or refused to take part in a breathalyzer or blood test, you risk being charged with the following penalties for engaging in the illegal act:
· A fine of up to $500 if there is an open alcohol container in the vehicle.
· A fine of up to $2,000 for the crime
· Three to 180 days in jail
· Having your driver’s license revoked for up to one year
· An annual fee of either $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain your driver’s license.
If you are caught in Bryan, Texas or any other city for that matter within the state of Texas driving while intoxicated with a child younger than 15 years old in the car with you, you will be charged with child endangerment and face the following punishments:
· A fine of up to $10,000
· Up to two years in a state jail
· Having your driver’s license revoked for 180 days.
Bear in mind that DWI penalties in Texas also apply to those who may be operating a vehicle while under the influence who have a BAC level that is below 0.08. The penalties then increase in severity if the offense is your second or third time being caught and charged for the crime.
Were you recently pulled over and arrested for DWI in Bryan, Texas? If so, now is the time to contact the Wagnon Law Group, PLLC by calling 1-979-703-8665. The DWI defense attorneys at this firm can help prepare you for court and work diligently to get your charges reduced and possibly even dismissed.
Trying to go up against the state alone isn’t an ideal situation for anyone, especially someone being recognized for driving while intoxicated. Many lives are negatively impacted by drunk drivers and others taken in drunk driving accidents which is why the state penalizes offenders so harshly.
New Law Passed in Texas that Affects DUI Offenders
As harsh as the penalties might seem, Texas Governor Greg Abbott just signed a drunk driving legislation into law that serves as an incentive to first time DWI offenders. If you are a first-time drunk driver and your BAC level was between .08 to .14 and you agree to use an ignition interlock device for six months along with completing the other court requirements, you become eligible to apply for a one-time non-disclosure. If granted, your DWI charge will be removed from your record according to KBTX-TV. The only first time DWI offenders who might qualify for this are those who didn’t cause injury or property damage as a result of them driving while intoxicated.
To learn more about what laws might affect you and how you can get your DWI/ DUI charges removed from your record, contact Bryan, Texas DWI defense lawyer Bryan Wagnon today and get your free-consultation scheduled. If you need legal representation right away or are a family member in search of a reputable Bryan, TX DWI lawyer to represent your loved one, call 1-979-450-0004.