Boulder, CO- If you are charged with a DUI in Boulder, your blood alcohol concentration will affect your charges. Colorado is different than many states in that it uses a two-tiered system which is based on an individual’s blood alcohol concentration when to determine if a driver is charged with a DUI or a DWAI.
Blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, is “measured by the weight of the alcohol in a certain volume of blood,” according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Police use breathalyzers to determine your BAC, and they work by identifying how many alcohol molecules are in a liter of breath. Breathalyzers considered scientifically accurate devices, so the results of these tests are important pieces of evidence to prosecutors.
Colorado has a two-tiered system for charging DUI offenders based on their blood alcohol concentration. You can be accused of a DWAI, driving while alcohol impaired, if your BAC is between 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent and if your BAC exceeds 0.08 percent, you can be charged with a DUI.
The penalties for a DWAI include a possible 180-day jail sentence and a $500 fine. There is no minimum license suspension period for DWAI.
For a DUI, you face up to one-year in jail, fines up to $1,000 and your license could be suspended for up to nine months.
In the unfortunate event that you are convicted of a drunk driving offense, they will remain on your record indefinitely, so if you are charged with another DUI or DWAI later one, it will count as a repeat offense. That means you will face tougher penalties, which is why it is paramount you get the help of a DUI lawyer in Boulder, Colorado. They can help you build a solid defense so that you can avoid conviction and minimize the consequences of your DUI or DWAI.
At USAttorneys, we have a team of practiced lawyers in your area who will vigorously defend your rights and provide you with an effective defense. They understand what is at stake if you are convicted and will do whatever they can to see that you don’t end up having a drunk driving charge on your record. That can mean agreeing to a plea deal or taking your case to court.
Before you say “No” to hiring legal counsel, let USAttorneys connect you with a DUI lawyer in Boulder, Colorado. You can set up a consultation and talk about the best way to resolve your DUI or DWAI. Call today and set case evaluation; it’s a decision you won’t regret.
You need a drunk driving attorney working on your defense if you want a chance of beating your charges.