Albuquerque, NM– With travel reaching an eleven-year peak in New Mexico this Memorial Day weekend, chances there are going to be plenty of drunken drivers on the road. You might be one of those drunk drivers. If you are like most, you don’t keep up with the state’s DUI laws, why would you? But the state’s DWI laws could have a huge impact on you if you get busted for impaired driving over the long holiday weekend. USAttorneys will discuss what the penalties for a DWI charge and how they will affect you if you are charged with DWI in Albuquerque.
If you have been charged with a DWI, you need to take your charges seriously and speak with a DWI lawyer in Albuquerque as soon as possible. If this is your first DWI charge, you have no idea of the troubles ahead–some legal, some practical. If this is a repeat offense, you know first-hand the frustrations and legal headaches ahead.
When you are charged with a DWI, the first thing that is going to happen is your license will be suspended immediately. You’ll get it back if you are found not guilty, but until then, you could lose it entirely. You may have the option to apply for a provisional license that will give you limited driving privileges while your case is being decided.
Things get worse if you have the bad luck of being convicted of a DWI, you could face up to 90 days in jail and pay penalties up to $500. Your license will be suspended for one year, and when you can get it back, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Making matters worse is the fact that any DWIs, no matter how long ago a person was convicted, counts against a person if they are charged with a repeat offense. All DWI convictions count as prior offenses no matter what, and the penalties for a repeat DWI can be harsh, including nearly a year in jail and a three-year license suspension period.
Losing your license is frustrating and could affect your job, especially if you are a professional driver and make it impossible to get around. You will also notice a steep rise in your auto insurance premiums and police could seize your vehicle. A DWI is costly on all levels, so you need to get legal counsel right away.
There are no plea bargains for a DWI in New Mexico, so we cannot emphasize enough how much you need a DUI lawyer working on your defense. You need to be able to counter the prosecution’s claims, and no one is better suited to do that than one of the DWI/DUI lawyers at USAttorneys.