Law enforcement in Washington State made 23,485 persons were arrested for DUI in 2015, according to the Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs. Many of those individuals are first offenders and have no clue what’s in store for them now that they are facing DUI charges. If you were recently charged with a DUI in Seattle, you might be asking yourself: What happens now?
Getting Arrested in Seattle
Most of us expect to be arrested and spend the night in jail if we are pulled over by police. That often means you will be taken to one of the locations listed below and need to be bailed out. A friend or family member can bail you out, or you can ask a criminal defense lawyer in Seattle to work on getting you out.
Jail locations in Seattle and King County:
King County Adult Detention
500 5th Ave.,
Seattle, WA 98104
South Correctional Entity Multijurisdictional Misdemeanant Jail
20817 17th Ave. S,
Des Moines, WA 98198
King County District Court
516 3rd Ave.,
Seattle, WA 98104
What is a DUI in Seattle?
The DUI laws in Washington State have transformed over the past few years following the legalization of recreational marijuana. Washington Revised Statute Chapter 46.61, Section 46.61.502 states that “a person is guilty of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, marijuana, or any drug if the person drives a vehicle within this state.” Under Washington State’s DUI laws, you face a DUI arrest if you are impaired by any of the following:
Alcohol- the legal limit in Washington State is 0.08 percent
Prescription Drugs- legally or illegally obtained
Marijuana-Medical or recreational with a THC concentration of 5 nanograms per liter of blood
What Happens to My Driver’s License?
Upon your arrest for DUI, your license will be suspended, but the Washington State Department of Licensing treats suspensions differently depending on the stage of your case.
After your arrest, your driver’s license will be suspended unless you request a hearing with the DOL within 20 days of being formally charged. If an examiner decides in your favor, you will get your license back if you avoid conviction. Your license can be suspended for nine months and ten years if an examiner rules against you.
Should you be convicted of DUI, your license can be suspended for 90 days up to four years. The DOL will give you credit for days your license was suspended prior to conviction.
How Should I Plead?
After getting the driver’s license issue settled, you need to think about how you are going to plead and how your defense will take shape. Each case is different, and there are situations in which it is better to enter a not guilty plea. For instance, an officer violated your rights and used excessive force during your stop.
Before you decide how to resolve your case, you should consider the consequences of a first-time DUI, which include:
One to 364 days in jail
Fines between $500 and $2,500
15 days of in-home electric monitoring
Mandatory attendance of a drug or alcohol assessment course for a minimum 90 days
Documented and undocumented immigrants face deportation for a DUI or repeat offense, so they should consult an immigration attorney in Seattle, along with a DUI lawyer.
The state approved alcohol assessment courses:
Tom Wilson Counseling- http://tomwilsoncounseling.com/washington.html
North Metro Online Education- https://www.northmetrotrafficschool.com/washington-dui-alcohol-class-online.html
Speak with a DUI Lawyer in Seattle
At USAttorneys.com, we recommend you consult with a DUI lawyer in Seattle as soon as possible. When you act quickly, you will have a better chance of avoiding the consequences of a DUI conviction with one of our experienced and tenacious attorneys on your side. Call and set up a consultation today.