If you are busted for driving while intoxicated, you’re going to have a lot of questions about your charges. Unless this is repeat offense what is going to happen in the next few months is a mystery. While you have many questions, you are probably most concerned with whether you are going to jail or not and what other repercussions you face.
Criminal Consequences and Jail Penalties for DWI in Kansas City
The most immediate impact of a DWI arrest in Kansas City is being put in handcuffs and taken to jail. Very few suspects get out of spending at least a few hours in jail. So, if you are behind bars, a friend, family member or criminal defense lawyer in Missouri can bail you out.
Jails in the Kansas City Area:
Kansas City Police-Detention
1125 Locust St.,
Kansas City, MO 64106
Jackson County Corrections
1300 Cherry St.,
Kansas City, MO 64106
Immediate Suspension of Your Driver’s License
Another instant consequence of a DWI arrest in Missouri is a suspension of your driver’s license. You can petition the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicle for limited driving privileges, but you must do so within ten days or your arrest. If you are granted a provisional license, you may be limited to driving to and from work, taking the kids to school or driving to a medical appointment.
A DWI conviction has legal and personal consequences that can reach into many aspects of your life. Below are some of the consequences of a DWI offense in Missouri:
Jail- Up to six months
License suspension- 30 days full suspense and 60 days restricted license
Jail-Up to one year
License suspension-One year or five years if your second DWI offense occurred within five years of your first offense.
Ignition interlock device- By order of judge
The amount of jail time you are given for a first, second or subsequent DWI conviction depends on your blood alcohol concentration and other mitigating factors such as prior convictions. If your blood alcohol level is 0.15 percent up to 0.19 percent, you could be sentenced to 48 hours in jail. As the mitigating factors pile up, the amount of time, you face increases.
Will I Go to Jail for Refusing a Breathalyzer?
A violation of Missouri’s implied consent law will not result in a jail sentence, your license will be revoked for at least a year, and you may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. You only lose your license for 90 days for a first DWI conviction
Refusal of a breathalyzer and a DWI conviction affect your immigration status whether you are documented or undocumented. In the worst case, your DWI conviction or refusal can result in deportation. As an immigrant, you shouldn’t make any decisions about your case without consulting an immigration attorney in Missouri.
How to Stay Out of Jail
Your case is going to be vigorously prosecuted including a request for the maximum penalties. That is why you need to hire a DWI attorney in Kansas City, Missouri to work on your defense. A lawyer will highlight your good character and counter the prosecution’s evidence so that you have a greater chance of staying in jail. With a carefully constructed defense, you have a chance of avoiding a jail sentence or DWI conviction.
Let USAttorneys.com connect you with a lawyer near your Missouri location. You can set up a consultation and learn the many benefits of having legal counsel. Your first consultation is free and confidential.