Iowa City, IA- For most Iowans, a DUI arrest will their only brush with the law of involvement in the criminal justice system and, unfortunately, for many, it won’t be their last. A shocking amount of motorists do not learn their lesson the first time around and go on to be charged with a second or third OWI offense. Maybe these repeat OWI offenders don’t fully understand the severe consequences of their OWI, Because, if they did they did, they would probably think twice before operating while intoxicated another time.
Firstly, if you are arrested and charged with a second OWI, you need to retain an OWI lawyer in Iowa City to assist you in your defense. USAttorneys can connect you with a lawyer who will do whatever they can to minimize the impact of you OWI.
In Iowa, a second OWI is considered an aggravated misdemeanor, which is an elevated misdemeanor charge and carries criminal penalties. Those penalties include a mandatory minimum of seven days in jail with a possible maximum of two years, depending on the circumstances of your arrests. For instance, if your accident involved an accident with injuries, you are probably facing a longer jail sentence. In addition to spending time behind bars, you will pay a minimum fine of $1,850 but could be fined up to $6,250. You will also be ordered to participate in a substance abuse program.
Under Iowa law, your license will be revoked for at one year for your second OWI violation. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer or chemical test at the time of your second arrest, your license can be revoked for two years.
It is possible to obtain a license with limited driving privileges, but the rules are complicated, and the offender must install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. For one, if your second violation was the result of an accident, you won’t be eligible for a limited license for 90 days. If your blood alcohol concentration was above .08 but below 0.10, you won’t qualify for a limited license for 30 days.
On top of the above penalties, your OWI conviction will remain on your record for 12 years. That means the charge will be visible on background checks conducted by law enforcement agencies and prospective employers.
For your first DUI, you might get some leniency for the prosecution or the court, but that isn’t probably going to happen with your second offense. When you are facing a second drunken driving charge, you need to retain an OWI lawyer near your Iowa location immediately. They can build a solid defense that gives you a greater chance of avoiding OWI conviction.
You can find an experienced and knowledgeable defense lawyer at USAttorneys, who you can count on to fight tirelessly on your behalf. Contact one of our attorneys today and set up a case evaluation. You can rely on our Iowa team to do everything in their power to minimize the consequences you face for an OWI conviction.