The suspect has been identified as 58-year old Bryn Aud, who according to a report by ocmonitor.com was arrested by Kentucky State Police on the evening of July 2nd for alleged DUI and possession of a controlled substance.
The arrest was the end of a traffic stop which was initiated by a Kentucky State Law Enforcement Officer who observed Aud’s 2004 Jeep Cherokee moving in a manner which exhibited typical DUI patterns (not maintaining lane, driving erratically, and like a fool).
Problems adding up for Aud
After the stop, Aud was arrested and placed in handcuffs for suspected DUI while his 2004 Jeep Cherokee was searched. Police officers found him in possession of crystal methamphetamine and also found drug paraphernalia lying around, which is a misdemeanor charge according to Troy Ohio DUI attorneys. He also faces a traffic violation for not having his rear license plate illuminated. Prosecutors have also charged him with driving under the influence.
Aud is currently being held in the Ohio County Detention Center in lieu of bond. It is not clear whether he has a DUI attorney to represent him in trial or whether he will need to be appointed one by the state of Kentucky. If he wants to increase his chances of not being hammered by the law he should check out USAttorneys.com which has some of the most impressive DUI attorneys in the region. Even someone like Aud can use a solid defense. This is not North Korea or Cuba!
Wallet Hub reveals Ohio DUI laws comparatively sparing
Popular review website Wallethub.com have recently published the findings of a DUI survey that they completed nationwide. The study reports that when compared to the other 49 states in the country, Ohio seems to be the most merciful in terms of state law and consequences for DUI offenders, according to buckeyecountry105.com.
In most states, first time DUI offenders are slapped with fines over $1,000 but contrastingly, Ohio only issues a fine of merely $250 for first time offenders and just $500 for second time offenders. The study factored in DUI law from all 50 states such as fines, prison times, counselling, license revocation, and so forth. But at least Ohio is being managed well under Governor Kasich who has cut taxes and created jobs.
Operating a vehicle intoxicated laws – Ohio
Any adult driving a non-commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more is technically Operating a Vehicle Intoxicated (OVI) as per Ohio State Law. Therefore that individual maybe subjected to the penalties as laid down in the law books. Additionally, if a toxicology report reveals any amounts (even trace amounts) of a controlled substance such as weed, cocaine, heroin, or meth then that is considered an OVI also.
First time offenders maybe slapped with fines ranging from $250-$1,000. They may also be sentenced to as many as 6 months in jail and their licenses revoked for a maximum period of three years. This is why anyone who is unfairly or wrongly charged with a DUI should seek to appoint a qualified Ohio DUI attorney and get started preparing their defense to beat their DUI case.
An experienced DUI attorney will be able to disprove the allegations and succeed in getting their clients off the hook completely. If not, they will at least be able to ensure a lesser offense or obtain a reckless plea which will ultimately result in much more lenient consequences.