DWI lawyer in Louisiana explains plea bargains for DWI charges
Baton Rouge, LA- According to statistics from Mothers Against Drunk Driving, over 5,000 drivers in Louisiana were charged with driving while intoxicated in 2016. It’s a fairly common charge and a conviction for DWI carries a host of legal and personal troubles. There is a way to minimize the consequences and your charges. In this article, USAttorneys’ drunk driving lawyers will explain the benefits of a plea bargain.
Penalties for a DWI conviction in Baton Rogue
For a first DWI conviction in Louisiana, you face a minimum of two days or up to 6 months in jail and your license will be suspended for up to 90 days. You will also face fines up to $1,000 in fines, and could be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your auto at your own cost. If you refuse to install an ignition interlock device, you could have your license revoked. If your blood alcohol concentration is high, you face penalty enhancements.
In addition, a DWI conviction will remain on your record for ten years and will count against you if you face drunk or drugged driving charges in the future.
What is a plea bargain?
A plea bargain is a deal, in which you agree to plead to a lesser charge, usually wet reckless, for reduced penalties. You also avoid having a DWI conviction on your record. If you pursue a plea bargain, you can avoid the time and expense of a trial.
A Louisiana prosecutor is not required to offer you a plea bargain and are often reluctant to offer these deals because of the stigma associated with impaired driving. There are numerous factors which dictate whether you will be offered a plea bargain including your blood alcohol concentration, arrest history and whether you caused a deadly or injurious accident while impaired. Even if you can negotiate a plea bargain for a DWI, a judge must approve it. You need an attorney on your side if you want to convince a judge to approve your plea bargain.
What’s the downside of a DWI plea bargain?
While a plea bargain for reckless driving or wet reckless will help, you avoid an impaired driving conviction, it will count as a DWI conviction is you are arrested for another DWI during the state’s ten-year lookback period.
Contact a Baton Rouge defense lawyer
If you have been charged with DWI in Baton Rouge, USAttorneys can connect you with a DWI lawyer to begin working on your case. They will work to mitigate the immediate and long-term consequences of a DWI conviction in Louisiana. Our team knows a DWI arrest and a conviction will cost you. They will do everything in their power to keep your DWI having a huge impact. We recommend you contact a DWI lawyer in Baton Rouge, Louisiana and set up a consultation. Call and set up a case evaluation today.
USAttorneys’ DWI defense attorneys will assist you with your arraignment, plea negotiations, and help you prepare your case for the trail.