Minden, LA- Far too many Louisiana residents make the mistake of driving drunk which makes sense in state where you can pick up a daiquiri at a drive-through. The prevalence of liquor in the state might give the impression that the state has lax drunk driving laws, but that couldn’t be farther from the truth. Louisiana happens to be very tough on DWI/DUI offenders.
Earlier this year, financial news and advice website WalletHub did analysis of DWI/DUI laws in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Their aim was to figure which states had the toughest financial and legal penalties for driving while impaired. WalletHub compared jail times, fines and other costs, whether convicted offenders are required to participate in an alcohol treatment program and how long an offender’s driver’s license is suspended.
As it turns out the DWI laws in Louisiana are pretty tough, so tough WalletHub ranked the state are the 14th toughest on drunken drivers. (In case you’re wondering Arizona comes in at number 1 and South Dakota comes last.)
If convicted of DWI, first offenders in Louisiana face a minimum of two days in jail up to 6 months in jail and will have their license suspended for up to 90 days. Offenders also face up $1,000 in fines and may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles at their own cost otherwise they could have their license revoked. Offenders with a high blood alcohol concentration will face even tougher penalties after a new DWI law was passed this past January. Causing an accident while impaired will also lead to enhanced penalties.
Making matters worse is that DWI convictions in Louisiana stay on your record for at least ten years so you can expect costly car insurance premiums on top of everything else.
There are many ways, legally, socially and financially that a DWI conviction will impact your life. You can keep this from happening by retaining a DWI lawyer in Minden, Louisiana to provide you with a defense. They have the knowledge and skills to challenge the evidence against you and give you a greater chance of avoiding conviction.
If you have been arrested for DWI in Minden, allow USAttorneys to connect you with a DWI lawyer who will begin working to mitigate the immediate and long-term consequences of a DWI conviction in Louisiana. Our team, knows a DWI arrest and especially a conviction will cost you and will do everything in their power to keep your DWI from impacting you so negatively.
Don’t make the mistake of thinking you don’t need an attorney. There is far too much at stake to try and handle you DWI charges alone. At the very least you should speak with one of our outstanding attorneys before you make any decisions about your charges. We’re confident you’ll realize how beneficial legal assistance will be for your case. Contact USAttorneys and we’ll send your case along to an attorney near you.