Larimore, ND – One person has died after a fatal crash involving a North Dakota man who has been accused of driving drunk and may face DUI charges.

According to the West Fargo Pioneer, North Dakota Officers responded to a call on Monday September 18th at 9:15 p.m. regarding a DUI accident. About a half mile east of Larimore, North Dakota, on Grand Forks County Road 4, Paul Lilja, age 43, was heading eastbound in his 2005 Chevrolet Silverado pickup when he turned left into a 2017 Victory motorcycle heading westbound.

The motorcyclist, age 53, was thrown from the motorcycle when it hit a ditch and overturned. Local authorities said that the motorcycle rider died at the scene, as reported by Valley News Live.

Lilja was not injured and arrested on suspicions of driving under the influence.

North Dakota Drunk Driving Facts

Unfortunately, DUI accidents such as these are not uncommon. Here are some fast facts about drunk driving in North Dakota:

  • At 15.3%, the rate of deaths per 100,000 population in North Dakota was the highest for the 21-34 year old age group.
  • The national rate of deaths by age due to drunk driving was significantly less than North Dakota’s state average; nationwide 3.3% of all ages were involved in an alcohol-related death, while 11.3% of all ages in North Dakota reported the same.
  • 3.3% of adults reported driving after drinking too much in North Dakota, while only 1.9% of the nation reported doing the same.
  • The rate of deaths by gender was reportedly 5.2% for men nationwide, and 17.4% for men in North Dakota.
  • Between 2003-2012, there were 502 people killed in DUI accidents in North Dakota.

DUI Laws in North Dakota

You will be arrested and charged with a DUI in North Dakota if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is:

  • 0.08% or more.
  • 0.04% or more if you are operating a commercial vehicle.
  • 0.02% or more if you are younger than 21 years old.

North Dakota DUI Penalties

The North Dakota court systems are harsh on people who are charged with DUI. The consequences of a DUI conviction in North Dakota are as follows:

First Offense

  • Addition evaluation
  • Class B misdemeanor
  • Two days imprisonment and $750 fine if BAC is .16 or greater
  • 91 day suspension if below .18 BAC
  • 180 day suspension if .18 BAC or greater
  • $500 fine if below .16 BAC

Second Offense

  • Addiction evaluation
  • Class B misdemeanor
  • $1,500 fine
  • Ten days imprisonment
  • 365 day suspension if below .18 BAC
  • 365 days’ participation in the 24/7 program
  • Two year suspension if .18 BAC or greater

Third Offense

  • Addition evaluation
  • Class A misdemeanor
  • 120 days imprisonment and $2,000 fine
  • Two year suspension if below .18 BAC
  • Three year suspension if .18 BAC or greater

DUI Attorneys in North Dakota

If you have been charged with DUI in North Dakota, know that you are not alone. has some of the most qualified DUI lawyers in North Dakota who will fight for you in the courtroom, and work to have your charges lowered or even dropped.

Contact our North Dakota DUI attorneys today to schedule a commitment-free case evaluation.