40-year old Phillip Andrew Lyle faces 10 years in prison after he pleaded guilty to a DUI charge in the Lee County Circuit Court, as per a WAPT report.

According to the court recordings and documents, Lyle confessed earlier this week to being drunk when he drove into the rear of a car in front of him. The impact of the collision killed the other driver who has been identified as Robert Smith IV. Lyle lost his left arm and spent substantial time in a hospital getting treated. According to witnesses and police reports, Lyle was travelling at speeds of over 100mph when he crashed.

After his released from the healthcare facility he was taken into custody and bail was set at $75,000. At the time, he could have received a potential 25-year maximum sentence according to Tunica MS DUI attorneys but the jail term was reduced to 10 years after pleading guilty with no contest.

Lyle was stood before a special grand jury when he admitted to being impaired at the time of the crash that occurred in August. His toxicology report which was released by the crime lab also proved that he was impaired.

40-year old Gulfport man faces prison term for felony DUI

40-year old Jonathan Richardson of Gulfport has astonishingly acquired his 7th DUI since 1999 and has been charged and convicted of felony DUI and sent to prison, as per a report in The Republic. The judge at Harrison County Circuit Court, Lisa Dodson, flexed her right to use the permissible maximum sentence and has sent the habitual offender to prison where he will remain for the next five years. According to police report, arresting officers were dispatched in response to a traffic call about a pickup truck which was supposedly weaving in and out of traffic haphazardly.

Arresting officers said in the courtroom that when they pulled up behind him and approached his window, they saw Richardson passed out in the car with his head against the steering wheel. The engine was still running while he had an open can of beer next to him and a 12-pack in the backseat. While in prison, Richardson will have to go through a mandatory drug and alcohol counseling program.

46-year old Diamondhead woman faces 4 years in prison for drunken driving with a minor passenger

46-year old Heather Lee Bullock has been charged with and convicted of a DUI whilst having a minor on board. The minor was her own 10-year old son. Bullock is set to serve four years in prison for her crime, according to a Sun Herald report.

While in prison, Bullock will have to undergo a mandatory treatment program for drug and alcohol addiction. Officers were able to acquire a search warrant and draw blood samples from her person based on the fact that they could smell alcohol on her person and they also said that her speech was slurred and almost indecipherable. Apart from beating the maximum legal blood alcohol content limit for driving by a huge margin, she also proved to be rather curt and uncooperative.

Mississippi DUI laws

According to Tunica MS DUI attorneys, the penalties for a first time DUI offense include a 90-day suspension of the offender’s driver’s license. In addition, first time offenders may be fined up to $250 and spend up to 2 days in jail. It is also mandatory to participate in the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program and have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.

If you are facing these types of charges, there is a website for you and that website is called USAttorneys.com. There are some of the finest local attorneys on this site and they are waiting to defend you with rigor.