The state of Michigan had introduced a “super drunk driving” law which carries severe penalties which carry more weight than someone caught with a blood alcohol content barely exceeded 0.8.
According to Fox17, the bill was passed with an intention to differentiate those who were just a little too tipsy and those who were driving while, for the lack of a better word, hammered!
According to Detroit DUI attorneys, a driver with a BAC percent higher or equal to three times the legal limit to drive can be charged with a super DUI. If convicted, offenders face prison time, hefty fines, installation of ignition interlock devices, temporary loss of driving license and mandatory counseling for alcohol and drug dependency even if it’s their very first DUI offense.
Under these circumstances, it was very shocking when a Sheriff’s Deputy from Ottawa County was himself found driving super drunk. According to arresting police officers, 42-year old Dennis Robert Smith was off-duty when he was spotted driving erratically without being able to maintain a single traffic lane. He was pulled over and subjected to routine field sobriety tests and a breathalyzer test which registered his blood alcohol content at 0.22 which is even higher than the 0.17 needed to be charged under the super-drunk law.
According to Detroit DUI attorneys, if convicted, Smith could serve prison time of up to six months and even be fined up to $700 along with a string of other penalties.
Michigan drivers with a bad rep are paying some of the highest auto-insurance premiums in the nation
When it comes to insuring your vehicle, it is very straight forward. The value of the vehicle is determined, the driver’s credentials and past records are cross verified, and a monthly premium is estimated. So, quite obviously, drivers that have traffic violations or worse, accident or DUI related history, have to pay a much higher premium when compared to someone with a clean slate. This is simply because these drivers are said to be more at risk and hence are at higher probability to claim insurance more often than their safer counterparts.
However, a recent study reported by Freep.com has shown that risky motorists in Michigan are paying exorbitant auto-insurance premiums matched by only two other states in the nation. According to the researchers and Michigan DUI attorneys, such drivers pay, on average, a whopping 68% more than those who have no prior convictions.
According to the study, speeding increases premiums by about 5%, DUI conviction will increase premium payments by 9% and reckless driving takes the cake by increasing premiums by 12%.
The only two states beating Michigan’s high premium rates are Louisiana and California who ranked 1 and 2, respectively. Not even the most astounding attorneys on USAttorneys.com can do too much for you in this regard.
Police Lieutenant himself charged with DUI following car crash
29-year old motorcyclist Hilary A. Briggs had to be airlifted to hospital after an allegedly drunken off-duty Michigan State Police Lieutenants car crashed into her Honda motorcycle. Thankfully, Briggs is in stable condition and is recuperating.
The accused is a 44-year old Michigan State Police Lieutenant Jason T. Teddy who was operating a white Lexus (1999 model).
Michigan DUI laws for BAC above .17 (first offense)
According to Michigan DUI attorneys, it is a crime for a driver to have a BAC of .08 or more. The state mandates enhanced punishment for DUI offenders caught with a BAC of .17 or more. The penalties for a BAC of .17 or higher includes a fine up to $700, and a jail term up to 180 days. First time offenders will also have their driver’s license suspended for one year while they will also have to complete an alcohol treatment program and install an ignition interlock device on their car.