Cumberland, RI- Two years in jail, that is the sentence handed down to a Rhode Island man who was arrested four times for drunk driving.
WHDH News reports that 53-year-old John Lourenco was sentenced to two years in prison and two years on probation after being convicted of four charges of drunken driving. Lourenco will also have to pay a $3,400 fine and go through an alcohol treatment program.
Last September, Lourenco was driving in Providence when he crashed his Dodge truck into a SUV with two children inside. The two children were treated at the hospital and Lourenco was arrested and charged with driving under the influence, WPRI reported.
Then just one day later, Lourenco was driving a different car in Cumberland when he rear-ended another vehicle. He exhibited the signs of intoxication and was charged with DUI. He was released into his father’s custody.
Four hours later Lourenco was driving a 70s Plymouth when motorists noticed him driving erratically. He was pulled over, but this time instead of being taken to jail, police took him to a local hospital for treatment WPRI reports. He then left the hospital without being discharged and was able to get his hands on the keys to his dump truck.
Then, in the evening, Lourenco was arrested for the fourth time after crashing the dump truck into a tree and suffered minor injury. Again, he was taken to the hospital and was released on bond later that day, his sentence for the charges handed down on late April means he will be off the roads for at least the next couple of years
It is obvious Lourenco has a drinking problem, and multiple arrests were not enough to keep him from getting behind the wheel. Some repeat offenders should be prohibited from driving especially when they have racked up several DUI convictions and have shown no willingness to stop drinking and driving. But DUI offenders who made the mistake for their first time, was barely over the legal limit or wrongfully arrested shouldn’t be given the chance to keep their license or at least have limited driving privileges. A DUI defense attorney can give them that chance with an effective defense strategy.
Drinking and driving is no joke and it can have severe consequences as Lourenco’s sentence shows. Even for a first offense, a convicted offender is facing up to one year in jail, up to $500 in fines and can have their license suspended for a minimum 2 months up to 18 months. Additionally a DUI in Rhode Island will stay on your record for up to five years. Treat your DUI charge seriously, and contact a DUI attorney in Rhode Island as soon as you are able. A conviction could affect your job, deprive you of your freedom and cost your thousands.