Concept of Drinking and Driving, beer and car keys
Providence, RI- Drunken driving accounts for a third of fatal traffic accidents, so it’s clearly dangerous, but not all drunk driving accidents end in death. Sometimes the victims walk away with no injuries and the drunk driver is gets a ride to jail. Such is the case of a Newport, Rhode Island who was charged with DUI after crashing into a pedicab earlier this week.
The Newport Patch reports that a 64-year-old woman was driving on America’s Cup Avenue around 8:30 p.m. Wednesday night.
Police arrived to the scene to find the pedicab driver and three passengers standing by, claiming that the drive who struck them was drunk.
The driver, a 64-year-old woman claimed “nothing happened,” and was in complete denial about colliding with the pedicab, according to the Patch, but field sobriety tests at the scene proved otherwise. Later on she told police she had a glass of wine, but police noted she smelled strongly of alcohol and was unable to follow instructions for the field sobriety tests.
She was taken into custody and charged with driving under the influence a refusing chemical tests.
Thankfully no one was hurt, but the accident did leave the pedicab driver without a vehicle.
This minor accident also left a woman in major legal trouble. Not only is she facing a DUI charge, she is also facing a refusal charged, which can lead to double the consequences. She’s just fortunate that she wasn’t charged with any additional charges for the accident. Unless you have experienced legal counsel working on your defense, you could have be convicted of both charges.
A simple first-offense DUI in Rhode Island carries and penalty of up to one year in jail, up to $500 in fines and can have their license suspended for a minimum 2 months up to 18 months. A conviction for refusal carries a minimum license suspension of one year. Treat your DUI seriously,whether it is your first, second or third, and retain a DUI attorney in Rhode Island as soon as possible to work on your defense, the can help you avoid conviction or negate some of the penalties you are facing. Your counsel will do what it takes to keep your record clean.
If you want one of the best DUI attorneys in Rhode Island working in your defense, USAttorneys recommends defense attorney Mike Judge. He has over two decades of experience advocating for DUI defendants. He understands how to build a strong defense on your behalf. Mr. Judge has helped hundreds of clients successfully beat their DUI charges and will give your case the attention it deserves.
You should take your DUI charges seriously and get legal help. A DUI may appear to be a routine charge but the consequences are greater than you may realize and will affect long after you’ve completed your sentence. Contact Mike Judge at (401) 578-4951 and set up a consultation. It’s a smart decision and could keep a DUI from affecting your job, your personal life and your freedom.