Roswell, GA- Each year, thousands of Georgians are arrested and charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In most cases, this is their first (and hopefully, their only) DUI charge, so they are unclear about what their charges entail and what penalties they are facing. Here will we discuss a few of the questions the DUI attorneys at USAttorneys are asked by their DUI clients.
Will I lose my license?
Unfortunately, you are going to lose your license if you’ve been charged with a DUI. It doesn’t matter if you haven’t been convicted yet, your license will automatically be suspended and will remain suspended depending on the outcome of your case. If you are convicted of DUI your license will be suspended for a minimum of 120 days anywhere up to 5 years depending on the circumstances of your DUI arrest.
What happens if I refused to take a breathalyzer test or chemical test?
If you refused any sobriety test in Atlanta, you will automatically lose your license for a year regardless of the outcome of your DUI case. Making matters worse is the fact that not only can you be charged for refusing, you can also be charged with a DUI. That means double the charges and double the charges. Even if you aren’t convicted of DUI, you can be convicted of violating Georgia’s implied consent law.
What penalties am I facing for my first DUI?
In Georgia, if you are convicted of your first DUI, you face minimum of 24 hours in jail all the way up to one year. You will face fines ranging between $300 and $1,000 and, like we discussed above, will have your license suspended for up to a year. Additionally, your DUI conviction will remain on your record for 10 years following your arrest.
There are non-criminal consequences associated with a DUI. Some convicted offenders lose their jobs because they can’t drive. Your insurance premiums could skyrocket and remain high for years to come. It’s always wise to retain an attorney to mount a defense when you are facing a DUI charge in Atlanta.
Will I have to install an ignition interlock device in my car?
Under Georgia’s DUI statute, ignition interlock devices are possible with a second or subsequent DUI conviction.
Can I plead to a lesser charge?
Yes, in some cases you may qualify for a plea bargain which would reduce your DUI to a “wet reckless” charge. That is basically a reckless driving charge that involved alcohol, a less serious charge with minimal consequences. A plea bargain will be more likely if you blood alcohol is just barely over the legal limit or you are facing your first DUI charge.
If you live in the Atlanta area, USAttorneys recommends defense attorney Coleman Sylvan to assist you with your case. As a former prosecutor, Mr. Sylvan has seen how DUI cases are handled from both sides which allows him to anticipate how the prosecution will approach your case so he can build an unbeatable DUI defense.