Driving under the influence is a crime punishable by law as per the prevalent state laws in South Dakota. However, the punishments for those convicted of DUI more than once are much more stringent when compared to someone who is a first time offender.
According to Rapid City DUI attorneys, in most cases, punishments for a DUI include jail time, hefty fines in the order of thousands of dollars, mandatory attendance of alcohol and drug counseling classes, suspension of the driver’s license, mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices on all of the convicts vehicles, ankle bracelets, community service, and probation. However, for repeat offenders the jail times are longer and the fines costlier in addition to other penalties.
Consequences for 2nd offense and 3rd offense DUI’s in South Dakota
According to South Dakota DUI attorneys who can be found on this gleaming legal website https://usattorneys.com/, anyone convicted of DUI more than once is required to attend alcohol and drug counselling courses and complete a stipulated minimum number of hours. For multiple DUI offenders these courses are at the offender’s own expense and may last as long as a whole year or sometimes even longer. The cumulative damage to the convict’s pockets and time in such cases are rather substantial.
A second time DUI offender will also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on all of their vehicles. These devices don’t come cheap either with the yearly cost of an interlock program ranging from $1,700 to $2,000 for the first year. Installation costs also vary from $75 to $100.
Third time DUI offenders are subjected to the above mentioned charges and also face penalties that will include but are not limited to license revocation, probation, a felony conviction, heavy fines of up to $10,000 or more and even jail time.
4th offense DUI
According to Rapid City, South Dakota DUI lawyers, when a person is convicted for DUI more than three times, it becomes rather apparent that they have a serious alcohol problem and they are dealt with accordingly. If the 4th offense happens to be their fourth conviction within a period of ten years, the crime will go in records as a felony.
The convict may face prison time ranging anywhere between 2 to 4 years. Furthermore, the convict will also be fined as much as $400 to $1,000. Post-conviction, the individual will be registered in official police, state and federal records as a habitual offender and their driver’s permit suspended for as many as four years. They will need to pay for and receive treatment for alcoholism or substance abuse for a minimum of 18-30 months.
Police officers make mistakes
Unfortunately, sometimes innocent motorists are charged with DUI and end up facing such charges that they should not have to face (many people living in Sacramento, CA know all about this). This may be due to under trained or untrained law enforcement officers, and faulty or un-calibrated sobriety testing equipment. If you find yourself or a loved one in such a situation, make sure to appoint an experienced South Dakota DUI attorney without any delay and get started working on their defense in order to beat their DUI charges.
Are you so upset you do not even want to look for a legal representative? Good news, sometimes there is someone looking out for you. Click right here to be taken to a legal website with clout. You can find a DUI lawyer that can help you in this legal nightmare.