Being slapped with a misdemeanor can be terrifying. A DUI charge, which in some states, is treated as a felony, even if it’s your first offense, can implicate license suspension, fines and perhaps worse of all, jail time. Understandably, there’s some shell-shocked involved upon learning that you’re going to be charged with a DUI, but we encourage those who are charged with one to get in contact with a criminal defense attorney in Jackson, Mississippi as soon as possible. Doing so will ensure that you have appropriate guidance and representation throughout your case, and that your civil rights are respected as demanded by the law of the United States.
DUI & DWI Charges:
While DUI or (driving under the influence) laws, often times tend to vary depending on the state you are in, it’s important to note that in the United States, according to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, around “forty-six states have felony DUI laws for conviction, and that some including Indiana, Minnesota, New York and Oklahoma will convict after a second offense.” Equally important to note, is the difference between DUI and DWI charges which according to Very Well Mind, “depends on state law, as both terms can be used to described impaired or drunken driving. Some state laws refer to the offense of drunken driving as a DUI while others call it a DWI. Quite often, one term will refer to alcohol, while the other term refers to impairment by substances other than alcohol (like prescription or recreation drugs) and the meaning can flip from state to state.” This is why in DUI/DWI cases, having access to an attorney who is familiar with the ins and outs of criminal law is crucial, because only by being well-versed and experienced within that field of law will they able to appropriately advise you and successfully represent you.
The Consequences of DUI/DWI Charges in Mississippi:
Just as the meaning of DUI and DWI varies per state so do the immediate consequences of the charges. In the state of Mississippi like in most states, the sanctions for DUI cases will be highly dependent on the circumstances of your particular case. That being said, first-time DUI offenses in the state, according to Drink Driving are penalized by a “$250 to $1,000 fine, up to 48 hours in jail, a 90 days to 1 year driver’s license suspension, a minimum of 10 hours attendance to a driver’s ed program and a proof of responsibility requirement.” While these are exigent penalties regardless, having a criminal defense attorney by your side who can ensure that you have a chance to make your case and are afforded due process can lessen your chance of being much more affected, and more permanently impacted by the events. To get in touch with a criminal defense attorney in Jackson, Mississippi, call Ballard Law at (769) 572-5111.