Memphis, TN- Well over a million people in the U.S. are arrested for drunken or drugged driving every year in the U.S. and they all face a number of consequences for their mistake. Penalties and the way DUI arrests are handled differ from state which is why our team of DUI lawyers in Tennessee wanted to discuss a few of questions they are frequently asked.
One of the most common questions is: Will I lose my driver’s license?
Unfortunately, losing your license is one of the immediate consequences of a DUI arrest. You don’t even have to be convicted for your license to be suspended, an officer can take it at the scene and it will be automatically suspended. In some cases, you might be able to keep your license with limited driving privileges but you need legal help to do so.
If you have the misfortune of being convicted of your first DUI in Tennessee you will lose your license for at least one year. A second DUI conviction and your license will be suspended for at least two years.
Losing your license can affect your job and put a damper on your personal life. There are several ways in which a DUI arrest and a conviction can negatively impact your life, so USAttorneys urges you to speak with a lawyer near you before you make any decision about how to proceed with your case.
Can I get a plea bargain for my DUI charge?
The state of Tennessee allows some DUI suspects to plea to the lesser charge of wet reckless which is basically a reckless driving charge that involved alcohol. You might be able to get a plea bargain for a several reasons. For example, if your blood alcohol level was right at or slightly above the legal limit or this is your first DUI offense, the prosecution may offer you a plea bargain. If you aren’t offered a plea bargain, your legal representation can negotiation for one.
While a plea bargain can give you the chance to avoid a DUI conviction, it will remain on your record and if you are caught for a second DUI within a 10-year period.
What are the penalties for a first DUI conviction in Tennessee?
If you are convicted of your first DUI in Tennessee you face a minimum of 48 hours in jail or up to 11 months depending on the details of your case. You also face fines between $350 and $1,500 and can be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your car. You can also be ordered to attend DUI school and do community service. You will also have an arrest and possible conviction on your record. For more details on the possible penalties you can visit the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security website.
You don’t want a DUI conviction on your record! If you are facing such a charge, we suggest your contact one of our DUI defense lawyers in Memphis to work on your defense. If you have been arrested we can connect you with a professional and well-practiced defense attorney to help you avoid a conviction.